I Held A Twitter Election And It Was A Glorious Dumpster Fire!

in #election7 years ago


SHOW NOTES: https://www.corbettreport.com/?p=25760

I held a Twitter sElection and you absolutely WILL believe what happened next...unless you're a statist, that is. Happy voting!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Well done James, as usual! It really is just a cloaking to get people confused and as soon as someone has won they completlely change their course of action.
In switzerland we have a votingsession coming up but it is (again) just not what I like to vote on. It's like do you want apples or pears, when In reality I would like to vote on bananas.
Let me explain the metapher. We have the choice to completely get rid of the yearly payment we have to give to the state tv-networks and semi-state radio shows. It is about 460CHF (swiss franks) so about 500Dollars a year. It is not that much (sadly for our standards) but it is just one of these hidden taxes not implemented in the grandscheme of taxes. So we either get completely rid of it (about 6000employees they say) or leave it as it is.
On the one hand I'm glad I don't have to pay for a service I'm not using anyways so the choice is clear, right?
It's not that sinple.
The state-tv has a public contract to do things the private sector would never do. For example translate the news show to sign language for the deaf people. And it has to do shows in our forth language as well just for a couple of hunders active viewers. Though only 10minutes a day which is kind of nothing.
On the other hand I just don't want to get rid of these small contracts.
Do you see the dilemma?
We get either everything or nothing. There is no option for a swiss-like trade-off.
I don't like that the tv buys the rights to broadcast the soccer-championship or some random tennis-match. This should all be pay-tv for the ones that like to know the results. It has nothing to do with a public contract. But do you think we get asked that specific? Oh lord no! Otherwise they would start to scrutinize even more.
This is the big dilemman in votes in general. We have two bad choices and that's supposed to be the best democratic system.
Still torn about what i actually should vote.
Either a pro western policy state tv or a private tv payed by the biggest political party which is basically just the right, because they have big private sponsors. It still would be bullcrap for the most part but with the state-tv there is at least a drop-in centre to challange them if they broadcast bluntly propagandonal material.

Anyways, thanks for listening!
Cheers!

Why would the private sector not do it? You seem to care, if a network did this would you prefer it?

Because there is no profit to get out of it I think. See that's the problem, nobody really knows. I think it is important that everybody can watch the news even deaf people even if they are Nato-bias. It's like public buildings should always be wheelchair-proof. It's just not fair otherwise.
I think I would prefer it that's why I'm so torn apart about this vote. On the one hand it is cool to not have to pay this hidden tax but then on the other hand I'm all about supporting minority which is (sadly) done with this hidden tax.
It's my personal choice to boycot TV and radio in general but it would be arrogant and mean to just denie everybody this service. Everybody should learn by themself that most of the TV shows are just bullcrap.

The truth is if nobody voted there wouldnt be any legitimacy to the selection process. By voting we basically legitimize the process no matter how flawed it is.

@corbettreport Damn that is hilarious! I wish I were on Twitter! You should try this on Facebook! Oh, wait...

I'll cast my vote for the only person on the ballot who has "the right" to rule, reign or otherwise command their fellow man. I don't do twitter much so I missed the poll, 😴, but it sounds like it was fun. I'll go to the links & check it out on corbettreport.com.

I, personally, will never vote.

I have to live with the shame of, not just voting but, encouraging others to vote. I have apologized to many for that.

Perhaps you should do this on Facebook... wait...what...you’re not on Facebook?

Voting might be the illusion of control, but it feels good to be slapped with some arbitrary numbers next to a dollar sign sometimes. Thanks for helping me start this account off to a good start, hope the charitable fund can work out in the long run.

I remember looking up a book, and finding out it was written recently by Henry Kissinger, and I'm still wondering how the hell that guy is still alive.

Corporations and their paid for lapdogs will never listen to us if we keep feeding them! Keep informed, people, and strengthen your ties with your fellow human beings, because their robots might not be as friendly or open to ideas.

Obviously next time you need to have Glorious Dumpster Fire as a candidate!

corbett.jpg

I vote, but I realize this is how effective it is.

Don't worry, the vote machine received your message in a bottle and allocated +1 vote for the other guy.

Amazing! That is exactly what I expected.

Actually, I believe most parties on the ballet have the same agenda they just use different words to get a vote.

Yeah sad but true, once more people are aware though...

Soon, voting with our decentralized crypto will lesson their grip, I hope.
Exciting times are ahead of us!

Exciting times indeed!

Well now I am voting for nobody for president. I'll vote for @adamkokesh

Kinda seems silly to vote kokesh for president.. ..isnt he an anarchist??

That's the whole point. He wants to peacefully dissolve the federal gov't.

I'm struggling with voting after I voted for Ron Paul during his last run. I swore tat would be the last ballot I would ever cast. I almost think that voting for a non-president doesn't count though. I deffinatly will help Adam's campagin with mt time, tallent & treasure. Casting a bollot???,we'll just have to see about that.

Well I can certainly understand. Campaign for Paul and did not vote in the last election. I don't need to have someone tell someone else what they can or cannot do my behalf. I struggle too. But I'm voting on here.

It sounds like we both have a lot of thinking to do on this subject.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60212.78
ETH 2902.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42