You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the Play Pump the answer to the world's clean water problems?

I'd not heard of this "solution" before. Thanks for the well written article. Have you seen Poverty, Inc? It covers quite a few well-meaning attempts to reduce poverty that, nonetheless, backfire. Maany people in many countries need help, but that the help is often designed from outside without the kind of local knowledge needed to both address poverty, but more importantly, grow the local economy so that poverty reduction is sustained. Even seemingly good ideas, like by-one-give-one shoes can disrupt an economy and prevent it from growing. While I support a strong social safety net, I find myself continuously going back to Hayek's views on the importance of local knowledge and the difficulty of centrally designed social engineering solutions.

Sort:  

I have not, its looks like its on Netflix’s though so I'll give it a watch. That said I am usually very skeptical of documentaries as a source of evidence.

I agree entirely with the listening aspect, this is why I really like GiveDirectly as a charity or developing capacity in a health system, rather than just building a hospital that then cannot be staffed.

It's hard we have so much money in comparison, there must be a way to use it so that it benefits others. Finding that however is extremely difficult.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52