You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A wedding by the shallow stream

in #effectivealtruism6 years ago (edited)

Good post. This is my though sequence while reading it.

At first I thought, "Of course I would jump in and save the child, screw the suit"

Then I though as you point out, it's a connected world, I can donate money to help a child in a distant country. Yet I don't. Shit.

I was checking out the ChildFund website a few weeks ago. Guess it's time to act.

Sort:  

Thanks! Yeah it’s a kick to the gut for sure. Singers short essay on the topic is worth a read at some point. Once you run out of things to read on this platform that is.

While I've got you, do you have any recommendation for others, like yourself, to follow here on Steemit? By now you've likely got a bit of an idea of the sort of thing's I'm interested in (mostly the intersection between science and society), seen anyone blogging on this lately? Cheers!

I have no real favourites yet. Just been on the platform since January.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84