A letter to the newbies in cryptocurrency, listen up! Learn from my mistakes and get a couple of my favorite utility tokens DAO's to check out

in #educational6 years ago (edited)

When I first heard of cryptocurrency, I thought my friend had gone MAD! He told me about Bitcoin and he suggested I buy at least one: “It’s the future of money” he said. At the time, Bitcoin was $125 dollars each token. A couple years later, he started talking about beginning of the Internet of things (Ethereum). Half of the time he spoke, it sounded like a foreign language to me and I found myself zoning out of the conversation. My friend encouraged me at the time to invest in this new Ethereum when it was .99 cents. He encouraged me to just buy $1000 worth. At the time, I had just graduated college and hadn’t secured my job yet, so I politely declined his help in acquiring it for me. That didn’t stop him though. Every time we hung out, that’s all he talked about! Months later, he suggested a bunch of people pool together to mine for Bitcoin. I finally listened this time (I had money this time since I secured a good job) and gave him $1000 to find a Bitcoin block. He found a block the next day and asked me if I wanted to cash in or possibly double my money and look for another block. I decided to gamble and we both spent ALL our money and found no block. Had I cashed out, I would have had 9 Bitcoins (worth $110,997 USD currently).

The first lesson here for noobs is this: please don’t think your friend is crazy for talking about cryptocurrency, because it is very real and very good. So good and powerful that now the governing officials want to know how to get in on this valuable asset! Sure you will see FUD (Fear Uncertainty and Doubt) spread throughout everywhere but you need to understand that all this fear spreading is because a few whales (millionaires/billionaires) want to get richer, so they pump and dump (make the price go waaay up by buying lots of stock, then dumping it suddenly-bringing the price down, then using channels to spread fear that IT’S THE END OF CRYPTOCURRENCY!!! SELL SELL SELL!!

The second lesson is this: HODL. If you get in, you've gotta keep calm and be able to ride the rollercoaster. It's extremely volatile at times with all the FOMO AND FUD. THINK LONG TERM. This digital era-our future is just getting started. Sure we will have to find a way to weed out scammers, fraud and comply with regulations and such but ask yourself, why wouldn’t anyone want to get in on an asset currently worth 6 BILLION DOLLARS?

So far in the story, I have invested $1000 and lost it. I could currently be holding over a hundred thousand dollars profit. (what’s our lesson? Again, don’t shrug this crap off!) Next, he starts ranting about a company called WINGS DAO. By this time, I felt burned by the loss and started tuning him out again. At the time, I believe the token was selling for fewer than 10 cents each, but he wouldn’t stop encouraging me to get in. He had sooo much passion for it that I decided finally after hearing about it for 6 months to sell my wedding ring from my recent divorce and invest the cash into WINGS token. I bought the tokens, signed up for a wings.ai account and deposited my tokens into a smart contract (a hack proof safe place for digital currency). There they sat for another couple months as I ignored him telling me to use my wings token to forcast on up and coming ICO’s (initial coin offering). When he told me about ICO’s, it sounded like a scam. Basically, it was companies building on the Ethereum blockchain; and it all sounded shady to me, so I ignored him as long as I could (but this time I lived with him temporarily in transition from my divorce)but he kept encouraging me to forcast and I finally gave in and did the necessary steps to use my wings tokens to forcast and evaluate the second company on the Wings Dao platform (which was ADEX at the time). (btw-forcast means you stake your tokens, evaluate the company and predict what they will raise in their initial coin offering to the public to raise funds to start up their company). Wings Dao pays wings token holders REWARDS MONEY (see wings.ai for details or get on their Telegram channel) **if you don’t have a Telegram-get one. It is the best way to listen to the chatter. Anyways, long story short here, I missed the first ICO, which was Bancor, which is currently valued $7.55usd each! Some forcasters, even with 1000 wings made A LOT of money. For a real life recent example of a reward paid go to: https://www.reddit.com/r/ethereum/comments/7rmtzw/it_is_not_very_often_when_someone_tells_others/?ref=share&ref_source=link or a blog on all the Wings Rewards so far: https://redd.it/7rbp9u

Last lesson here, get some wings and forcast on ICO’s. Last year, 2017 was the year of the ICO. Wings had 14% of all the ICO’s raised funds on their platform! This is still a ground floor opportunity as they are still not in beta version for their platform and on Ethereum mainnet, they are still in pre-beta which is slow slow slow and you have to have some serious patience in getting paid rewards and getting the site to load. HOWEVER, you can get a taste of the finished product at testnet.wings.ai (do not send any real money here, it is only a test version for you to play around with for when beta goes live NEXT MONTH!). They are finishing all of their audits, then they will be ready to launch (and my guess is the crowds will follow then). Oh and it’s worth mentioning, you never lose your wings for getting things wrong, you just use gas on the ethereum network to process your transaction.

My last blog mentioned WingsDao’s recently ended forcast for AURORADAO, and that is also a ground floor opportunity to invest in a really good working product and team for rewards and passive income. Please see my last blog for details on IDEX/AURORADAO for more information. It’s worth mentioning that IDEX is a decentralized exchange (meaning, us people run nodes or programs on our computers to run their network). There’s lots of details on all that, so feel free to research about it but know it is really the best way to keep the power in the people’s hands. You can also visit Aurora/IDEX chat channel on Telegram or their website for more info www.aurorodao.com.

Here’s a link to the IDEX blog: https://www.reddit.com/r/auroradao/comments/7rgwg5/the_all_new_decentralized_exchange_idex_is_on/?ref=share&ref_source=link

Sort:  

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📉 7d
ADXAdEx2.083$-13.46%-22.45%
BNTBancor7.238$-4.57%-25.4%
BTCBitcoin11923.800$-6.52%-13.43%
ETHEthereum1068.410$-5.08%-20.48%
WINGSWings1.080$-14.91%-36.38%

and Aura Dao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88