Flags of the World #8 : Armenia!

in #educational6 years ago (edited)

Hello followers and fellow Steemians welcome to my review of the Armenian flag! This is the 8th flag I will be covering in my series to cover most of the flags of the world! I hope you enjoy the ride, if you stay long enough I assure that you will also start to like flags a lot! just like me!

The plan is to go ahead and try to cover most of the flags in alphabetical order! So we still have long ways to go! Hope you stay for the ride!

Today's Flag is the Flag of Armenia!

armenia-162230.png

Flag of the Republic of Armenia

Untitled (6).png

The Armenian flag is a horizontal triband of equal sizes, a classic flag design. The top band is red, the middle band is blue and the bottom band is orange although some people and sources claim its not orange but rather the color of apricot... i don't really see it... maybe I'm colorblind? maybe I have to do more research into Armenian apricots? This flag was adopted on August of 1990 after the country declared its sovereignty from the USSR.

Untitled (6).png

Meanings

The red color represents the Armenian highlands, the continuous struggle for survival, the huge effort to maintain the christian faith alive in Armenia, Armenia's independence and freedom and the blood of the 1.5 million Armenians killed on the Armenian genocide. They packed a lot of meaning in the red!

The blue color represents the Armenian pure sky and the will of the people of Armenia to live peacefully under those pure skies.

The orange color represents the country's courage and the creative talent and hardworking nature of the people that reside in Armenia.
Untitled (6).png

Previous Flags

Armenia has been conquered, became independent, it has been annexed again and fought for independence again over the years by many countries and empires in the region, a pretty typical behavior for all the countries in the Caucasus region. With all this annexations, empires and Independence come a lot of flags! So i'll be showing a few of the most interesting flags Armenia has had in the past!

800px-Artaxiad_standard2.svg.png

Flag of the Artaxiad Dynasty

This was the flag used to represent Armenia when it was under control of the Artaxiad Dynasty from 189 BC to 1 AD.

Flag_of_Transcaucasian_SFSR.svg.png

Flag of the Transcaucasian SFSR

This flag was used to represent the whole region of the Caucasus including Armenia when the region was unified by the USSR between 1922 and 1936.

Flag_of_Armenian_SSR.svg.png

Flag of Soviet Armenia

This flag was used to represent Armenia when it became its own republic in the USSR, this flag was used from 1952 to 1990 when they started using the new flag!

There are a few more flags that where used to represent Armenia but these are the ones I find more relevant in the story of the country!
Untitled (6).png

Facts

  • Armenia is one of the few countries in the world that has a diaspora of people so big, that there are more Armenians outside of Armenia than in Armenia itself. The population of Armenia is of around 3 million and the diaspora is estimated to be around 5 million to 10 million Armenians outside of their country.

  • Armenia was the first country in the world to adopt Christianity as an official religion in 301 AD and for this reason it has some of the oldest, centuries old Christian churches in the world!

  • Armenians are really into chess! They are so into chess that chess is part of the educational curriculum of the country and being a good chess player in Armenia is like being a jock in America or a E-sports gamer in Korea, You are a super star!

Untitled (6).png

Location

Armenia is located on west Asia, in the Caucasus region.

Armenia_(orthographic_projection).svg.png

borders-2099195.png

Nice picture of the borders of Armenia

Untitled (6).png

Thanks for reading this far down! I hope you enjoyed the read :-D, Help me improve by leaving a comment with suggestions and if you liked it please upvote, reesteem and follow me for more flags in the future and the other things I post too!

Untitled (6).png

Come hang out with us at the Crypto Empire Community!

sig.png

Untitled (6).png

All the pictures in this article where sourced from Pixabay, a royalty free image source!

The picture showing the location of the country was sourced from Wikipedia

Check out this paste if you want to support my work with a small donation.

Untitled (6).png

Sort:  

@lunaticpandora. Thank you for the informative post and bringing such noteworthy and important historical facts to the Steemit community.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, i'm glad you enjoyed it!

Do you know about Sheldon Cooper and Amy Farah Fowler presents Fun with Flag

Yes I really liked that segment, my inspiration to create these posts came mostly from my love of paradox grand strategy games, my love for geography, countries, the people that live in those countries and their heritage! and of course fun with flags!

I have always wanted to play the Paradox grand strategy games. In fact I tried playing EU IV and Crusader Kings II but I think I have lost the patience to learn new games. All I like to play now is Civilization

Another great post! My favorite is the flag of the Artaxiad Dynasty. :)
p.s. I think you have a tip feller in the part when you described meaning of the colors; you have explained blue twice but there is no orange, so I guess that the second blue was planned to be orange :)

You are right lol, I made a slight accident there! I'm glad you liked the flags. Fixed the typo.

I don't know, but it looks like yellow to me! maybe I'm the color blind one. By the way, as an amateur chess player, I have to say, I would really enjoy like a child visiting that country.
Good post,keep it up!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post! I used to play a lot of chess when i was a kid in school but i almost completely stopped after i got my first computer and got interested in technology :-P

They have had so many flags :O My favourite is the one from the Artaxiad Dynasty. And that last tri-colour picture with the lions! It's so artistic.

Armenia is one of the few countries in the world that has a diaspora of people so big, that there are more Armenians outside of Armenia than in Armenia itself.

I wonder how many Venezuelans are outside. I don't think we can compete with Armenia's proportions, but since we're bigger we may be able to compete with their raw numbers in the future. It's sad, though; nothing to be proud about.

That's an interesting question, official numbers say that the Venezuelan diaspora is around 3 to 4 millions but we all know those are fake numbers and the real number is way higher.

Hi there @lunaticpandora! I'm glad i stumbled upon your blogs. It is very informative, thank you for sharing this amazing post, i loved it. I've learned a lot, makes me wanna go to Armenia right away haha will be waiting for your next posts! Great job :)

Thanks ;-D I'm glad you liked it. The next flag is coming soon!

wow it's the perfect recipe

Thanks Luna! I'm always on the lookout of your flag of the world series. It's great to know Armenia!

So educative and so on point @lunaticpandora

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lunatic Pandora from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49