You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pavlov, Roller Skates, and Why We Don't Punish Our Kids - Unschooling

in #education6 years ago

Thats a wonderful format,
But there's a duality of issues if we were to say it may work for all.

I have known too many adults in life who couldn't handle information that caused them stress or sadness because they were raised this way.

They shut everything that does not make them feel happy out, wich if we are ever going to have a functioning world we also need to deal with the reality of the not so happy stuff.

._. I suppose a lot of what I "discipline" my kids for has to be with regards to making choices that are harmful to others. Where I would prefer they reflect on the reasoning for reprocussion so they can grow and learn to see their behavior would not fly for myself as an adult either and why.

Wishing you all the best with your own format however!

Sort:  

Ahh, but discipline is a large part of our lifestyle--! Self-discipline and the guidance that's given to form self-discipline. Punishment is not the same as discipline at all.

I have known too many adults in life who couldn't handle information that caused them stress or sadness because they were raised this way.

Hmm. Meaning, their parents handled anything unpleasant for them? I was raised that way....and so it's important that my kids have a firm foundation in handling the responsibility of their own existence, as much as is appropriate for their respective ages....which is often much more than most adults would think. We frequently underestimate children, and it does them no favors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47