You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teaching Teenagers about the Magna Carta

in #education8 years ago

I would do a roleplay exercise in-class. Make one student (or yourself) the king. Allow that person to sit wherever, talk at any time, use peoples pencils/paper, order people about, throw tantrums, make everyone stand/sit on command. Do it for 10 minutes.

Then hold a revolt. Have the students write up a class Magna Carta limiting the powers of the king.

Then they will know the power of the people...

Sort:  

It's interesting that you mention this. I do a little acting when I get to the causes of revolution. Thanks for the suggestion! I might give this a whirl next year.

Let me know how it turns out if you do. I would recommend you be the 'king' at first. A real tyrant! Take their supplies, make them move seats, stand-up/sit-down at various times, make them stand in a corner for no given reason as punishment, have them huddle near a desk while you enjoy your classroom land. Could be fun to see what they put in their Magna Carta when the revolt begins.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51