Steem Poker League Presents : Poker Tells

in #education6 years ago

In live poker games, some amateurs will wear sunglasses, hats and scarves to try and hide their physical tells. They “hide” to keep their opponents from seeing their jugular vein pulse or their pupils dilate. They are afraid of pro poker players - or even good amateurs - seeing through their bluffs and monster cards. Their strategy isn't necessarily wrong, they are simply focusing on minutiae while big picture concepts elude them.

gangster-539993__340.jpg


The Truth Is

Most beginning players make so many equity errors with early bet sizing that physical tells have very little impact on their wins and losses. By the final betting round, the pot odds often dictate the calls and folds, not that bead of sweat running down your opponents forehead. Online there are even fewer tells; timing, bet sizing and player history/tracking are the tells we will talk about today.

puzzle-1152792__340.jpg


Online Tells

Timing is obvious and simple but can be an effective move to utilize when playing online. By using the time you take to respond to your betting turn you can influence your opponents next move. In live poker this is referred to as hollywooding it, making an easy decision look difficult and sometimes agonizing. This is a basic move that players must understand both sides of in order to gain an advantage.

Merging Ranges

Figuring out how to merge your betting ranges is crucial to playing high level online poker. This is a fairly easy concept that sounds fancier than it is and a lot of players already do it without giving a name to it. You simply have the same bet sizing for your value bets as for your bluffs. If you can merge your bluff range and your value range, your opponents will have a difficult time figuring out your hand and will fold when they should call and call when they should fold.

bluff-2757392__340.jpg


Once you are able to effectively merge your ranges, your hand history will tell no clear story. If you run a heads up display - or HUD - of a good professional players actions, you will find that their value ranges and bluff ranges are nearly identical. This gives no tell and that is the whole point of merging ranges. When you find a player online with the opposite - a polarized - range, it's easy to exploit and they become your delicious fish and chips!

fish-and-chips-2753360__340.jpg


Every poker hand is a story. Better players know how to keep the story going and when to close the book. I tell my stories @spl on lucksacks.com... I invite you to come and add your stories!

image.jpg

Have a lucky day!

xo, @bethalea

Just Beth.jpg

SPL hr line.png

Lucksacks-Support.png

International-Womens-Day-Tournament.png

Sort:  

Great article so true.
Can’t wait to get into the SPL I need to grind up my rep.
I’ve been playing on CoinPoker a lot at the moment plenty of MMT freerolls and soft tables.

I’m happy to take any advise as to best faster way to get my rep up. I’ve posts a few things but I struggle with words. Takes me forever to put a couple of sentences together.

You are but a few good votes away from acquiring a higher rep. Easy thing to do is write good thoughtful non self promoting comments on posts you enjoy.

I too am working to get my rep up high enough to join the action. It's a slow path but ensures that the players are more than just a robot.

Nice piece
Very informative
Well-done sir

Excellent information for us

This was a good poker reading. If you know how to identify your opponent's betting patterns, you may have an edge over your opponent. I personally like to confuse my opponents. Reading about merging ranges was quite interesting.

Nice post. I notice so much while I'm playing and I have a natural inclination to help people be better players but then I think about it and say "why help my competition?" I'll just keep watching and playing my game and hopefully be successful.

Good stuff Beth.

You will notice a lot of online players not realizing how quick or slow they act will impact the decisions of other players. But experienced players will often act quickly when they are weak to display strength, which can work in certain situations, or backfire in others.

I'm always multi-tasking when playing, so sometimes long pauses are just me writing an article, not debating a call.

Please sir I want to register for the poker game

This scene will teach you everything you need to learn about high level poker psychology 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97