The day I realized Steemit was VALUABLE AF

in #education8 years ago

I owned STEEM before I even knew what Steemit was. Being aware of the inevitability of cryptocurrencies in future human interactions the minute I got a chance to invest I did, I bought everything my $25 Amazon giftcard would allow me to get on Poloniex.

Then I started digging into my purchases, and as I was trying to figure out what the acronyms meant for all the technology I got and what each of the tokens were designed to do, I started noticing how upon Googling for answers about crypto I kept coming across links for Steemit.

◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽

At first I didn't know what I was looking at, I assumed it was some sort of news network dedicated to crypto as there are a few. But then I started seeing more links, and finally I got to research what this STEEM thing I had purchased was only to find more links from Steemit.

i dont own image

Coming from a non-technical background I really appreciated how the information provided in Steemit was very easy to digest. I started browsing around and noticed how many of the questions that had troubled my mind were being answered in this platform. I had theorized a good application for blockchains if adoption were a focus would allow information to be transmitted similarly to the way done in other social media platforms. Seeing Steemit unfold before my eyes was a dream come true because it meant I didn't actually have to pay anyone to develop the site myself.

If I should criticize anything about Steemit would be how confusing dealing with several currencies may be at first, after a while things have become a lot clearer for me but to this day I don't feel comfortable explaining that part to others which means I don't know it well enough.

◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽

Despite all that, just the fact that Steemit links are popping up everywhere should raise flag about the potential for this platform. I find the posting process to be smooth, easier than any blogging application I have ever tried.

I signed up using my Facebook account, which honestly I didn't like very much because I don't want to validate FB any further. By the same token understanding how important verification of humanity can be pushed me towards giving away my identity and now I am glad to be using my name because it means no one else can take it from me.

Recently I started seeing some people on social media start to migrate their writing to other platforms. They have quoted sites like minds.com and medium.com but when I checked them out after using Steemit for about a week I didn't see a single reason to use them over Steemit. The main reason I stayed here aside from rewards and censorship resistance is because I have an interest in this technology and I find this place to be the best to stay informed about cryptocurrencies without losing all communication from the rest of the world. If Steemit was just about technology I would had bounced long ago, but you can find information on pretty much every subject, not just crypto.

◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽◽

Soon enough internet censorship will trigger a massive search for alternatives and everyone looking into any cryptocurrencies will hear about Steemit, it's already happening.

I don't know how much the value of Steemit could suffer from getting banned from sites like Facebook and search engines, that is what I am most worried about at this point. But development of this platform hasn't stopped since I joined and those behind it do respond to our suggestions, that's something I never got anywhere else on the internet. I feel like I have a chance to truly contribute in Steemit and think others feel the same way, despite things not being communicated very well at times.

I feel honored to be a tester and investor here, this is the most valuable thing I do every day even if it's not the most rewarding right now.


✒️ 100% Followback ✒️

Sort:  

excellent post @tommycordero! if you have not joined discord or steemit.chat you should do so. there is plenty of discussion going on in regards to STEEM, steemit.com and crypto in general. Welcome!

I would love to see the day in which messaging becomes available in Steemit, I know a lot of people have suggested this. I will sure check those discussion channels out, thanks for sharing!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36