How I plan to use Steemit's reputation system to become an online therapist

in #education8 years ago

When I was asked in front of the cameras for the first time what I wanted to do with my life if money wasn't a concern, I smiled and told the interviewer I'd take a moment to think about it. This is one of my favorite questions to ask people when trying to gain better insight about the concepts they manage and their desires, but it's not really a question I'd been asked before. The few times someone had asked me what I would do if money wasn't a problem, since money was a problem at the time, my mind would always go to all the rest I wanted to get if I didn't have force myself to work anymore.

source

But that wasn't the question, the question was what I wanted to dedicate myself to ideally. So I looked around trying to find the words and finally told the interviewer that I wanted to be a guide and live from donations. I said I just wanted to have a roof, food, medicine, my essentials for survival, and that I would give all my knowledge of humanity freely in exchange.

After the crew left and filming was done for the day I started reflecting on this desire of mine that I had neglected, the desire to help people by listening to them and pointing out things they were not considering in their decision-making, changing perspectives. So I went online to find out if people thought I needed anything to become a guide and immediately it became clear to me that there is a monopoly on pain and credibility. It's easy to see the monopoly of pain and credibility when you search for the requirements to help another person, be it as a counselor, therapist, life coach, guide, shaman...everything requires you to pay someone to confirm that you know what you are doing.

source

What if I don't know what I am doing? Is that such a bad thing? Could there be more value in thinking that you don't know what you are doing than in being convinced that you do know?

Briefly I considered getting a fake certificate, there are plenty of places, famous universities that will sell degrees. But again, I'd be playing into the monopoly, paying cash to get certified and/or wasting my time with instructors that would rather have me fail than see me succeed if it means they don't get credit too. Just knowing that I would be validating the thinking that people need to go to school for their work to be worth would drain me enough to disable me from learning anything, if I could learn anything from repeating lies to begin with.

I'm not saying school is totally useless or that no one has ever benefited from going, what I am saying is that the fact that things are purposely made more difficult, often illegal, for those who wish to opt out makes education as we know it today a criminal enterprise.

source

I don't want my work to be known by the school I went to and how much tuition costs there, I want my patients to speak for my work. For the first time I think I've found a good enough mechanism to show what I am capable of, what better platform to put forward a resume on dealing with people than Steemit?

Over time I hope to build enough of a reputation by helping others, people can go on my blog and see all my interventions, my opinions, my replies and how people respond to them. It could help them in determining whether I am the person they want to speak to about their feelings or situation, or whether they need to keep looking.

In the same way, I can see how other professionals could benefit from this reputation system. Recently I thought about opening another blog to do only translations, hoping to build a portfolio with more than enough to show for my skills in this area too.

Power is the illusion of power, if enough people recognize you as a teacher, even if you have never given a class in your life, your lessons would be welcome. In the same way, if enough people recognize you as a criminal, even if you have never broken a law, you may end up in jail.

I give some of the best advice on the internet and IRL, only the one seeking advice needs to recognize this, not the government or some education mafiosos.

Sort:  

You´re wonderful @tommycordero and you already can teach everyone a thing or two with that attitude... just look at all the "leaders" in so many fields, so many are NOT leaders... just go for it, let the market decide, its like ebay, if you piss people around, no one will use your services.
Remember, amateurs built the arc, professionals built the Olympic Titanic

Thank you for your kind words and encouragement :)

Nice, that's a good way of thinking it. There are plenty of use cases for the rep system here. Although it certainly would be better to have more peers in the platform that self-regulate each other in some ways..

The more caring people the better!

Thanks for following me and followed back. Much Success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65