You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Modern Education Is Anything But Modern

in #education7 years ago

Home schooling, online schooling, and alternative learning are all areas that I'm interested in. I don't have any children yet, but when I do have kids, I hope that my wife and I have the resources to teach our children from home.

A few months ago, I was in a play that was for all ages. One of the 12-year-olds turned to me during rehearsal and said something I'll never forget...

"You wouldn't want to be a student in public schools right now. Kids bring guns to school these days."

Even if it schools were technologically advanced, I'd still be fearful of what the other children were up to. It's sad, but almost necessary for parents these days. I hope that security and education improves in schools for the children's sake.

Sort:  

The worst thing about public schooling is the group mentality that ends up following them later on in life — especially in politics. Instead of learning to become individuals we succumb to the will of the masses.

It's incredibly sad that we indoctrinate our children into the cycle too. It's vicious and hard to break free from without awareness...

One can only take individual action. It is extremely hard to brake off from the herd-educational mentality.

Remember what Hitler said: "He alone, who owns the youth, gains the future."

That's an incredibly scary (yet accurate) quote. It absolutely gets you to think.

Indeed, kids at that time were turning in their parents at alarming rates. You created me but we belong to Hitler was the mentality and this is precisely what Hitler and his gestapo wanted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45