You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Education: Is Certificate Truly Worthless?

in #education7 years ago

@smyle , the postulation that certificate is worthless in my post was based on my personal experience and also based on the experience of underemployed and unemployed graduate around me , I based my study on my immediate enviroment which is nigeria , a country where most graduate are not employed based on their certificate .
I wouldnt want to go deep , because by doing so i will be runing down the same system that made me enlightened , nevertheless my point is that in nigeria your certificate will not get you a job, there are a lot of factors that involve in you getting your dream job, certificate is one of the least, and if yu are lucky to be employed, you will end up working in a field that is not yours.
So do I mean people shouldn’t study hard in school?
Oh, no, you should. But don’t sacrifice every other
thing on the altar of First Class.
Don’t limit yourself to the classroom.
Do something practical. Take a leadership position.
Start a business and fail. That’s a better
Entrepreneurship 101.
Join or start an association. Contest an election and
lose. It will teach something Political Science 101 will not
teach you.
Attend a seminar. ...Read books outside the scope of
your course.

Sort:  

Like i said, your social condition was responsible for your position. Also, your submission about your observation of some graduates was based on assumption. You assumed that such is true for the whole. We call it fallacy of hasty generalization. What is true for part (some) is not always true for whole (majority).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68010.47
ETH 3258.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68