You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's Model Applied to Education

in #education8 years ago (edited)

@alexc You are providing a wide sweeping overgeneralization of the education system as a whole and ignoring many of the awesome services it provides. What specific unbiased study states the majority of teachers are controlling and abusive? That we are power hungry and defensive?

I find your characterization of schools as prisons very offensive, and I hope you consider pursuing all sides of this issue before posting more hateful rhetoric.

Sort:  

Well, we are forced to send our kids to schools, whether we agree or not. Additionally, the kids have no say in the matter. While we can homeschool as an alternative, many lack the means to make that a reality. The fact that force is involved supports @alexc's claim of it resembling a prison, in my opinion. I believe completely voluntary models of education, like the one I explore here is how we will educate children in the future.

I also wouldn't call it hateful rhetoric. I am at work and don't have the studies to back up my views right now, but when I have the time I will show you how it is proven that our current model of education not only fails, but is completely counter-productive.

In the meantime, check out the School Sucks Project. Brett Veinotte does a phenomenal job breaking this all down and backs his claims up with real data. If you are curious as to why @alexc would say such things, I highly recommend you checking it out.

http://schoolsucksproject.com/category/podcast/

Take care!

On a side note, I of course recognize that there are many good teachers out there and I am not trying to castigate them needlessly. I am merely trying to point out fundamental flaws in our current model.

If we have voluntary models of education on a completely free market, I will never be able to afford school for my son with Autism. Students below the poverty line would never have a chance to attend school. Parents that don't care would never send their kids to school. Free and compulsory public education is the lynchpin to our society and growth. It's not force. It's open access for all. I am humbly asking to consider the good it is providing instead of just focusing on the bad.

To hear prison as an adjective sincerely makes me feel like I am an evil cog in some imaginary machine fueled by "the man". I am anything but. So yes, it hurts me greatly.

You and I agree on choice. My state has vouchers that allow students to attend private institutions. Many are starting to get there. I think there is much potential to be had there.

Thank you for your reply! It is great getting to discuss this from all sides of the issue! I will be sure to check out this link later when I have more time to process in full!

If we have voluntary models of education on a completely free market, I will never be able to afford school for my son with Autism.
The market has never determined the cost of these services, so we don’t know how much they will cost. However, we know that competition tends to drive prices down over time, so opening the market up would be the best avenue to reduce costs for specialized education.
Students below the poverty line would never have a chance to attend school.
This is why there would be free alternatives such as the one I proposed that would fill that gap, and even financially incentivize children to learn
Parents that don't care would never send their kids to school.
This may happen, but people would likely view them as bad parents and ostracize them. The social implications of their decisions would reach far and wide, thus encouraging good behavior.
Free and compulsory public education is the lynchpin to our society and growth. It's not force. It's open access for all.
It’s open access to a monopolized version of education, not open to competition where better, cheaper options will exist.
I am humbly asking to consider the good it is providing instead of just focusing on the bad.
There are certainly good aspects of our current system, and I can tell you’re living proof of that. However, I want the foundation of our education model to be one of consent, as I truly value people’s consent.
To hear prison as an adjective sincerely makes me feel like I am an evil cog in some imaginary machine fueled by "the man". I am anything but. So yes, it hurts me greatly.
I’m sorry if you were offended, that was certainly not my intention.
You and I agree on choice. My state has vouchers that allow students to attend private institutions. Many are starting to get there. I think there is much potential to be had there.
I agree, anything we can do to increase our choices is a good thing.
Thank you for your reply! It is great getting to discuss this from all sides of the issue! I will be sure to check out this link later when I have more time to process in full!
Awesome! I appreciate this discussion and I also appreciate your willingness to discuss these topics as an educator!

Love the school sucks project podcast! I actually recently wrote a post explaining why I believe that much of the current racial tensions stemmed from unethical public school practices: https://steemit.com/anarchism/@limitless/the-statist-root-causes-of-black-lives-matter

Will read it later for sure, followed back so I don't forget about you :)

That's fair. I'm sure there are some teachers who have a positive impact. I had maybe 2. I also can only talk out of personal experience which was that school was very oppressive.

https://steemit.com/school/@alexc/school-is-a-form-of-child-abuse

I may be overgeneralising. I am very hateful and angry towards schooling because it made me feel like a little worthless piece of shit because I dared to trust myself more than adult authority.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59