You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking Through Homeschooling: Is it right for your family?

in #education7 years ago

Great post! I have four girls my eldest suffered yrs of bullying threatened to be stabbed. School said they couldn't keep her safe and said it was best she left they made no attempt to deal with the bullying. I made several complaints but felt like i was bannging my head off a brick wall nothing was getting done, in the end the stress was too much and she had to leave before exams. Shes now at college and doing fantastic. My 2nd eldest hates school has had slight bullying every now and again but no where near as bad as my eldest shes doing exams next yr and plans to go to college also. My 2nd youngest daughter hates school. Shes suffered bullying teasing its just silly things shes only just turned 8 but its really upsetting her and its daily. Girls forming groups and leaving her out of games and being really nasty to her. She is desperate to be home schooled.My baby is only 9 months and the thought of going through it all again just fills me with fear. My partner isn't really for it iv mentioned it a few times over past cpl yrs n he loves the idea but he still thinks you need exams to get anywhere in this world. Apart from the bullying issue iv noticed a huge change in the education system since my eldest two started in school it, was very easy going then, when we still had some of the old school teachers around. Now your lucky if they are over 20 yrs old ! We have the curriculum for excellence here (nothing excellent about it) carbon copy of common core. There has also a legislation passed here in Scotland thats called named person (state guardian for every child) this involves constant snooping and data collecting into the childs family life to ensure their wellbeing needs are being met. Alot of their schooltime is now filling out government surveys (some very sexual questions included in these surveys). I just feel totally suffocated buy the whole thing Your post has given me inspiration to give it a go i really want to do it. Im going to let my partner read this tmro and see what he thinks. Its got to be better that what we are experiencing now im dreading the thought of schools going back after break . If you have any links to curriculums or any sites that may be helpful it would be greatly appeciated x Thank you for taking the time to write this its brilliant you have my vote xx

Sort:  

Wow, I'm so sorry about the bullying your kids have experienced! My heart goes out to you. It's totally unacceptable that its tolerated. Persistent bullying makes school such a drudgery that it might as well be prison! I sure hope you and your partner are able to come to an agreement for your little one. You'll need his support. Please message me if I can be of any further help to you guys. Check out the "Class Dismissed" documentary too. http://classdismissedmovie.com All the best to you!

Hey again, I wanted to add that we heard about that "Named Person" policy when it was in the works and we were all shaking our heads thinking that was not a good development in Scotland. Very sorry you live with that.

And here's a few links you might find useful:

thank you and for the links will check these out x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69020.66
ETH 3731.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65