Student Poetry and Reflection

in #education7 years ago (edited)

"Some people just dream of meeting their favorite authors and artists- I teach mine" -The internetz

I have been a high school English teacher in urban schools for 6 years. Which seems strange now- it feels like I got my degree 3 seconds ago, but it also feels like maybe I got it back when man was carving their fertility gods into stone. I have always worked in schools with populations that leaned heavily Latinx- and no, after multiple years in Spanish classes, I still can't say much more than "me gusta". That's probably not even conjugated correctly. Don't mind my terrible Spanish though, that's not what we are here for. Over the years, I have been collecting my favorite pieces created by my students, and thought I'd share some with all of you.

IMG_4540.JPG

Carlos dropped out a few years ago- I was super sad about it, because he was absurdly talented. Not only as an artist, as you can see above, but also just naturally intelligent. He was reading at a college level in 10th grade, super reflective, could analyze a piece of literature like he was getting paid for it. I don't know where he's at now, but I hope he is doing well. I kept this piece because I loved it, not realizing all the gang symbolism in it. The crown and the numbers are related to gangs, and there is some drug paraphenalia pictured as well. It's heartbreaking to see kids be blocked from their potential based on the situations that they were born into.

IMG_4538.JPG

Amador created this piece for extra credit based on the book Night by Elie Wiesel. He put a lot of thought into this- the unfinished figures in the background and the bodies on the ground are a comment on the dehumanization that took place in the concentration camps. The more complete figure in the foreground is the author, Elie, trying to pull his father up out off the ground after his father wanted to give up. Amador has a lot of talent too, and I'm excited to see him continue to work on his skills.

IMG_4541.JPG

These are from two different artists. The year that I had Randy, we did a project where the kids did research into their names and wrote a paper about them. Randy was very surprised to learn that his name could also be used to mean "sexually aroused". So that was fun to explain to a 16-year-old. I liked his happy little-mustachioed apple. Alex drew the mushroom and the star based on my love for Mario- which he learned when my phone went off during class and played the Mario theme song.

The last piece that I wanted to share was a poem by Brayan. He wrote this for an independent reading book project- the kids have to complete one at least once a month on a book of their choice.

"Jail" Inspired by the book Locked Down, Locked Out

Being in jail is lonely at night.
it's waiting for letters
that no one will write.
It's depending on people
who you thought were your friends
when they fail to come through
again and again.

It's sitting around
with nothing to do
trying to figure out
who is who.
Only to find out that hearts
are made of stone
and realizing you're all alone.

It's waiting for visits
that will never take place,
from so-called friends
who've forgotten your face.
Wondering why time seems
to move so slow
night after night.

The day will come when I am free
then it will be my turn
to forget those
who forgot me.


rockymountainsteem.png

writersblock.gif


mspgif.gif



Art and Poetry property of the stated students. Reflections are mine

Sort:  

aw - Brayan's poem is so nicely done, and I like his twist at the end. Is he in your class now?

He was a sophomore two years ago, although he switched schools so I've lost track of him. I do love when they show me unexpected talents ❤

Thanks so much for sharing! It’s so amazing how powerful expression is, especially for kids discovering themselves.

I'm always so impressed when I give them the opportunity to show new talents- they have so much to offer, and it's not always valued in our world ❤

Hi, caught your name on the upvote list of my recent post and so I want to checkout your blog. I enjoyed the student work, before retiring I was a high school art teacher.

Nice! Always good to meet a fellow teacher :)

Some of that artwork is really incredible. There are a lot of talented people that waste their talents by trying to ruin their own lives.
I have no idea why that is. If you want to learn Spanish or any language I can show you an easier way to learn it.

What is this easier way to learn Spanish? I'm really hoping for an easy button at this point....

Well if you want easy you can use part of the total immersion method. What's your favorite musical group? I might be able to find a Spanish group that sounds like it. You'd be surprised how easy it is to learn when you are jammin.

Eden Project and Ed Sheeran are my favorites right now- if you come across anything in Spanish that sounds similar I'd love to hear it!

Very cool to see you feature the work of your students. I’m hoping each of the stories of their lives has a happy ending.

This is educational post..I proud of this post because I am student ..Thanks for sharing.my friend
.

Most welcome..
But when create your new blog friend??

What a wonderful collection... That poem really makes an impact... And the kid has a lot of understanding about what happens in jail. I hope he is still writing poetry.

He switched schools mid-year, so I am not sure, but I hope so too!

I wish him more poetry and dreams!

Education is the key to all successful life your post is so informative thanks for sharing it to us...

I wish the schools plan to do everything they possibly can in order to keep retaining quality educators like you.

Things like this can make such a huge impact on a kid. I love that your kids feel acknowledged and supported by the way you serve it up.

Thank you lovely <3 I hope everyone has the space and time to tell their story.

wow. thats some raw talent. ty for sharing. i can feel how much you truly care for these kids.

Raw is a good word for it. There are so few opportunities in an urban school for these talents to be nurtured, so I try to offset the balance. ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62