Computer Science

in #education7 years ago

I wont stop talking!
It is assumed generally that all computer science students (Nigeria) are automatically programmers.
When we look through our university’s curriculum in year one. We will find out that most of the courses being taken are mathematics and physics. When I was in my first year, I only took two computer courses.
And even the following year, I took more of mathematics. It was however, in my 300 level I began to go deep into computer courses. Most of the courses were theoretical and no much practicals.
I was able to solve mathematical problems using BASIC, JAVA, VB, FORTRAN, PASCAL, C++ programming languages. The only period we were exposed to practical was during the compulsory 6months SIWES training. And we are expected to become a good software developers within that period! (Funny).
How should we still be learning outdated stuffs like fotran, cobol, basic, pascal when there are latest meaningful programming frameworks like JavaScript stack (Angular js, nodes js, React etc), ASP.NET, XAMARIN to learn. We were rather thought what our lecturers were thought during their school days. How do you expect these graduate to perform excellently in the real practical world?
My contention is why calling computer science students programmers? When we were only thought how to use these programming language to solve MATHEMATICAL PROBLEMS which lead me to some schools saying computer science used to be under the mathematical science department.
If we truly want to have seasoned Nigerian graduate to be software developers, I urge the National University Commission (NUC) to create a department named Computer programming department (taking ANDELA as their case study). With that, we would have good software developers to compete with the rest of the world.

Let scrab computer science and leave computer science education
#ScrabComputerScience&PickComputerProgrammingDept

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59