Open Source University: Global Education in the Future

in #education7 years ago

This Post is in response to the 150 SBD ~ Sponsored Writing Contest: Open Source University sponsored by @originalworks.
OS University

After reading about the Open Source University, and watching the video, I decided this would be a great idea. I have been taking online courses since 2009. I liked that I could learn from home, and that I could get my studies done when it suited me. I didn’t have to be concerned with what to wear, or the commute. I only needed to do the work.

Halfway through my MBA, I took a break from online school, and decided it would be a final break, because it was a lot of work. Like any student, I miss going to class. After having my life revolve around reading, and writing papers for many years, I was not quite sure what to do, after my classes end.

I can see the potential for the Open Source University, because I imagine there are many people, who like me, still want to learn, and continue learning new skills, but cannot physically attend a classroom. There are many businesses that cannot afford to train their employees themselves, and will need a reputable place to send their employees to learn new skills. OS University will provide them with the resources needed, to encourage educational growth to all businesses.

There may be others who, also like me, have degrees in fields of study they have no desire to work, and may want to build different skills. It is very expensive to go to college. It is even more expensive to change your major, half way through your education. Open Source University will combine all your skills to find the job you will excel; instead of the job that is laid out in a traditional curriculum.

The Open Source University will keep track of your degrees in one place. Employers will not need to look in different places, to get an idea of a potential employee’s skills, education, and experience. They will be able to find available candidates through the OS University, and then return them to the University for further training.

I think this is a very important step. After each one of my degrees, I had to search for a job on my own. The online college would send me leads to jobs, but they wouldn’t send the employer to find me. The Open Source University will be bringing all the aspects of a career together, by providing the student, employers, and educators a place to come together to reach their common goals.

I can also see future teachers evolving to teaching online more. With the cost of commuting, and the cost of running a class, many teachers may seek this opportunity to be able to teach online through the OS University. They will not need to be in any certain physical location, at a particular time; making this a nice option for teachers living in rural areas of the world.

osuniversity2017

Sort:  

Well put. I totally agree. Online learning allows students to re-watch recorded lectures and pick up bits they may have missed. The one problem I may see is that of students who are not learning because they 'want' to but because they 'have' to (as in your training employees example) not actually doing the course work themselves but outsourcing papers.

This post has been submitted for the OriginalWorks Sponsored contest!
You can also follow @contestbot to be notified of future contests!