Nobody cares about your degree

in #education7 years ago

I flew all the way to Switzerland from Singapore and paid an exorbitant amount to receive a double degree.

I'm sure many of you fellow readers also did the same thing. Going overseas for a 'better' education.

I was sold a dream. A dream that I would have a competitive advantage over my fellow peers when the truth is this.

Nobody cares.

Everyone knows this, we go to class. We open our laptops and download the powerpoint slides. The lecturer then reads off the powerpoint slide word for word. What's the point of studying when I can read it myself?

Don't get me wrong.
When it was first introduced a long time ago. It was a fresh creative take away from the traditional textbook. But what's the point now when the modern day powerpoint is the olden day textbook?

I guess the point to this post is, I want an education. But do I really need a degree?

Sort:  

I totally agree. Education has to evolve the way money is evolving right now.

I remember watching a YouTube video explaining how our education system has been the same since inception. I probably learnt more doing an internship in an established company as compared to sitting in the classroom discussing possible solutions to real world problems.

Based on your suggestion, a school should be an operational company instead. Sending students to short courses and then immediately applying their skills.

Plus getting the students to decide what they want to do in their life and providing them with all the necessary tools to achieve this particular thing. Most young people are lost because nobody tells them that they have to find something they want to do and stick to it.

Unfortunately right now you need the "certificate" if your looking for someone to hire you unless you have an in. That's what a lot of networking is. I've seen people hired even when they aren't "qualified" like others have to be. So in short to educate yourself no. You can take your interests as far as you want to. To be hired without the "in" yes. But that's how the world is going to work you have to find that niche and sell you no matter where In the world. If your going to the advanced places lately. Sort of Sad to say 3rd world countries are where most people are going to succeed. There is only one place to go there...up.

I don't know which is saddens me more. The fact that everyone has a degree rendering it pretty much useless. Or that I need a Master to even qualify for finding a decent job. At the end of the day, its generally getting harder to get out of the "Rat Race".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47