ADHD

in #education6 years ago

Shadow of My Word.
ADHD.

Two years ago my child was diagnosed with ADHD and his school's psychologist said he must go to a special school. I was devastated because the special schools in South Africa are bad and as a teacher, I was not prepared to send my child there.
I decided to put my child on Concerta even if I hated the drug option and kept him in the normal school. We work every day two hours on school-related work. Last year at the end of grade two he averaged between 70% to 85% for everything.
Beginning this year he also got glasses and we realised he only had 50% sight in the one eye and 65% in the other eye. According to the optometrist, there was no way that he could have seen anything on the board the last two years and still, he made me so proud to be his mommy.
To all the Parents with ADHD children, it is hard and sometimes a tiring road but not the end of the world.
Today I felt like the worst mum, my son had a test and I forgot to get his medication. My husband said we must let him stay home but I told my husband we can't do it. I do not want him to feel that he can not do anything without the medication.
So I send him to school and said to him he must always believe in himself then I pray and ask God to be with him. Guess what he got his 80%.
This does not mean that I am going to take him off the medication but it means that sometimes things happens then we just have to believe in yourself and GOD.

Remember you are always ahead of your shadow.

Sort:  

I am so happy to see you are so supportive of your child's learning journey and have embraced the diagnosis of ADHD. I'm a nurse practitioner and can not say enough times that medication is only part of an answer. It seems that in your child's case that their vision was a big deterrent and may even have contributed to the ADHD diagnosis. Keep being supportive and your child will succeed beyond anything you could have expected.

God gave him to me to take care off and love him and that is my purpose in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74