You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How The American School System Has Destroyed The Value Of A High School Diploma

in #education7 years ago

Awesome article!
Although my wife works in public education, I homeschool our boys all of the same reasons you mention.
I want to specifically address, and strengthen, your mention of ALE. You see, I had a terrible time in public school growing up, much of this stemming from my lack of parental guidance. My in-school-suspensions began in the 4th grade and I had accomplished my first trip to my districts "Alternative Placement Center" by 6th grade (I went every year after that until I was committed to the Texas Youth Commission @ 16yrs old for juvenile delinquent behavior). Although, I constantly failed my academic studies in standard school I excelled in APC. Unfortunately, each trip to APC would only last 6wks. I contribute my success in APC to the interventional and structured setting that existed there. As previously mentioned, I lacked parental guidance as a child; I believe the presence, immediate supervision, and guidance of the adult educators at the Alternative Placement Center was exactly what I needed to supplement and reinforce my personal development as a child.
I did eventually achieved an AAS in Drafting and Design Technology at a community college with a 4.0 GPA.

Sort:  

Great points! Some kids have needs that the regular public school system is not equipped to meet. There should definitely be an alternative for them. I am glad there was something in place for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18