living rent free to pay off student debt

in #education6 years ago (edited)

So here begins my journal on my scheme to get out of debt. To put it short, I will be living rent free, in a secret location, a hidden room in a building. The first part of this blog will be the build out. If you want to learn some construction techniques, you should stay tuned. So, I racked up a big bill years ago attending college, some debt accumulated from trade school too. Be honest with yall, I should have just taken longer to finish my BsC in Chemistry. I was already employed in my field several years before my graduation. But, after about 6 chemistry classes I started to REALLY hate the whole experience. I will explain why later. Ugh, my patience ran thin, and a borrowed. As of today I owe about 34K in student loans, 5K on a car, and 15K on a few credit cards. Disgusting. Fortunately for me, the desire for possessions is almost completely gone. I dont yearne for things I used to, now I scoff at them. What I want more than anything is to be debt free, own more property, and have half a million in savings and bonds in 10 years. That number will grow too. Currently, my assets are around 40K in land and some other things, plus savings.

My plan is to annihilate these debts in 2 years, making payments of 2-3K a month.

One thing I hope is for other people to be inspired and destroy their debts as well.
Weekly, I meet people with horrid debts from college. One person owed..$
750,000 for a double bachelors in anthropology and math. Terrifying.!

Anyhow, let building commence! I have to moved in here in 3 weeks. My secret spot will be in an attic! The box I am building is about 5 feet wide by 8 long by 6 tall.

So just framework for now. 2x4s....Screenshot_2018-12-24-22-06-19.png

Screenshot_2018-12-24-22-07-06-1.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the upvote, I agree "the desire for possessions is almost completely gone" for me also. Unfortunately I was dumb enough to go to college that's were all my debt is from. I got the credit card debt paying expenses. I hope by the fall semester I have enough money I can take plumbing or electrical courses.


You just planted 0.08 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nc-mgtow

We have planted already
6316.94 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 26860.46
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Wow... I feel lucky to have accumulated exactly 0$ of student debt for MSc and PhD. Miracles of Europe, Serbia to be more precise.

Good luck!

Higher education in the US is a racket. Glad you are not in debt for you education!

Why not invest some in crypto and use the gains to pay the debt?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64