You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Intelligence IQ – hot or not?

in #education7 years ago

When I was in college one of my professors paid for me to have an IQ test, just for kicks. Intelligence is no indicator of future success. My second wife always used to throw the education thing at me... "You're so smart, you have a masters degree..." I always told her that the people that succeed in this life are the ones smart enough to find out what they're good at and capitalize on it- find their niche. She was incredible at keeping house (you could literally eat off the floors) I paid for her to put an ad in the paper advertising a house cleaning service. Now she has 5-6 people working for her. She licensed, bonded and insured... I do her books and she's doing very well. There's many different kinds of "smart" IQ doesn't come close to measuring them all.

Sort:  

True indeed. I know someone who is very smart in the engineering department, who did not have the finances for studies but will be able to pass with a distinction if given the chance to do the exam. Now that same person, with all his knowledge in that specific area (gained from hands-on experience) is unable to get a job because he does not have the qualification showing it. I understand that rules are rules, but circumstances are also circumstances. Not everybody had the privilege of money but that doesn't make them less smart because they don't have the paper to show it. Or even, if the person is unable to read and write, for example, it doesn't make him/her less smart if he/she is not word smart but rather picture smart.

I know people the same way. My friend back in the 70's didn't even go to high school, yet he made robots that were really cool. They had clear tubes with different color fluids... they were all remote controlled. He took them to trade shows and made a mint putting them through their paces. I guess he was one of the forerunners of robotics.

It's great that he could do that! Big ups to him.
Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75