Funding A Future

in #education7 years ago

Good Evening Steemians All Around the Globe!


Unity_Handshake.png

I’ve had this idea brewing for quite some time now. But have yet to find a way to make it happen. When I first started college I had big dreams and even bigger expectations. But as time passed on it became clear to me that in order for me to reach any of the goals I had set for myself, I would need to put forth a lot of effort. Not that I didn’t already expect having to ruffle a few feathers and shuffle a few feet but I never realized that trying to make a difference in my community, or at my school would be so uninspiring.

C_mon_Bitmoji

Let me get straight to the point. I wanted to create a scholarship fund at my school in order to help other students located in our sister schools around the globe afford college tuition. Seems like a pretty amazing idea, right? Being in education I thought it would be quite simple to find advice, set up a savings account or special funding account, get the word out, raise the funds and start taking applicants. NO, it was not simple AT ALL. I was hit with so many roadblocks, you’d think I was driving in NYC, during a double concert, on New Years Eve.

I did have some supporters, I even won an award for starting the campaign to get the ball rolling. But when it was time to act, nobody was of any help. I tried reaching out through the right channels, tried finding out who was in charge of scholarship funding at my school and was met with an empty inbox or unreturned phone calls. I tried reaching further and contacting the sister schools themselves in Sri Lanka, Vietnam and Peru and found a finger in the right direction. But ultimately, it got me no where.

So, I’ve decided. Once I have graduated, which will be by the end of this year. I’m making my Y2019 resolution to retake on this journey and raise funds to help students get their education.

P.S.

Any advice from those of you who have began and conquered your own fund raising mission, please let me know what steps you took to help get your campaign started!

Sort:  

This will be an epic journey, one worth doing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37