You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discon 2018 Talk: DPOS and Governance. How on-chain governance may change the future of tokenomics.

in #education6 years ago

Hi @lukestokes. Thanks for posting the video presentation. I came across this post when researching about eosDAC. I enjoyed the historical perspective you gave and it was nice to see the evolution of the blockchains. I did have two questions 1) is eosDAC the only community run Block Producer for EOS , if so why do you think others have not started or copied the eosDAC approach? 2) If eosDAC is not one of the 21 EOS Block Producers why would someone want to invest in eosDAC tokens? Is there reason to hold or purchase eosDAC tokens if eosDAC doesn't get voted in as a block producer? I hope you see this question. One thing I don't like about Steemit is that great posts seem to get "stale" after the 7 days as people only want to vote on new posts. Cheers! ian

Sort:  

Thanks for your questions, Ian. I've found that my quality content still adds value to me (and others like you) long after 7 days, so I'm not concerned about that. They often lead to new followers and new votes in the future.

As to your other questions:

  1. I can't speak for other BPs and their strategies, but I'd love to see more community run block producers. Maybe once we finish doing all the hard work of completely launching the DAC on chain and building the full DAC Toolkit, other BPs will take advantage of it and reorganize as DACs themselves. It's possible they don't want to do it (yet) because of the perceived risk of an untested model. It's also really hard. It's easier to centralize everything, take the BP reward money as your own, and do what you like with it.

  2. eosDAC is a pioneer in terms of DAC enabling. If DACs are the future (and I believe they are), then eosDAC members (token holders who have registered) will be at the forefront of empowering and enabling the future. I imagine many new DACs will launch and airdrop on a community (eosDAC) who understands what it is they are building and want to support it. The BP revenue (even as a backup) is nice, but ultimately (to me) the token is about governance and owning a stake in the platform that launches the future. I imagine eosDAC will enable many different chains and enjoy rewards from them as well.

While we're talking, I should mention that registration is open right now at https://members.eosdac.io/

Hey thanks for the reply Luke! I find these are exciting times for DACs and I can't wait to see how this evolves. Yes I have registered my eosDAC. Cheers!
Ian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84