My first teaching assignment...

in #education6 years ago

Since I was a child, i dreamt of becoming a teacher and be able to share the knowledge I gained through education and life's experiences. Since most of my aunts are teachers, I was inspired to become one.

2013-01-16 13.43.41.jpg

My First teaching assignment was in Besigan, Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines. It was the farthest barangay of our city. Where we need to ride a lot. First, we need to ride a van for almost 1 hour, to reach the market of Poblacion, Talakag, Bukidnon. Second, we need to ride another vehicle which is a motorized tricycle for 30 minutes to reach the Dole Banana Plantation in Santo Niño, Talakag, Bukidnon. Third, we need to go trekking for 2-3 hours from 1 mountain to another to reach the school. By the way, the 2 mountains are separated with a strong current river in which we need to pass through with the use of a bamboo raft, the natives call it "gaket".

2012-06-22 11.09.38.jpg

The school is very far that we are required a half day travelling time from the city proper of Cagayan de Oro. And we can only go home once a week, every weekend only.

2013-01-18 08.09.13.jpg
During my first week, I cried a lot because of the fact that I'm far from home and I am used to live in the city with 24 hours open stores. In this place, all people are sleeping at 8:00 in the evening and all you can hear are the sounds of the crickets and insects. At night it was so peaceful that made me cry and miss my home so much.

Photo0771.jpg

After the many challenges that I've faced, I became used to it. Later on I learnt to love the place, the people and its culture. The place is so beautiful and untouched. The air is very fresh with fog in the surrounding. The people are naive, kind, generous, smiling and loving. The culture is unique as well as their dialect. This place is a treasure of Cagayanons.
SAM_9081.JPG
And I realized that I am so lucky to be part of the teaching force of Besigan National High School. My memories here will never be forgotten.
SAM_0757.JPG

Sort:  

the noblest teacher's duty to teach his students to be better and smarter

yeah your right... teaching is indeed a noble profession.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73