You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nonverbal Education in Aldous Huxley's "Island"

in #education8 years ago (edited)

This reminds me of the current movie Captain Fantastic, which is about a homeschooled family trying to find this same balance between book-learning and direct experience. They're more focused on the physical and athletic aspects than I remember Island being, though I read it years ago and my memories are incomplete.
I wrote something quick and subjective about CF here:
https://steemit.com/anarchism/@plotbot2015/captain-fantastic-oc-impressionistic-movie-review

Sort:  

Interesting. I haven't seen the movie. Maybe I shouldn't read your post yet because of spoilers?

They do some hardcore rock climbing as a team in Island.

I'd say teasers at worst. Nothing that the movie company wouldn't show on its own trailer site.
Maybe I should re-read that one. I'm working on a column about how the education of children is shown in SF generally, and that's a great counter-example.

Ok, thanks. That's a nice idea for a column.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43