You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adsactly Education - Columbia River

in #education6 years ago

The Columbia is a great river, it provided food to the Native Americans for years, and still provides Washington and Oregon with so much culture and activity. I'm blessed to have grown up in Portland and had easy access to the Gorge my entire life.

One of the most interesting stories that was not included in your post, was Celilo Falls. Although, I am thankful for the cheap power harvested by the dams, I wish I could have seen Celilo Falls and the salmon jumping up over the falls to their next spawning ground.

My favorite Oregon Columbia River city is Hood River (fun fact: the only city in Oregon that allows you to have an open container) , followed by Astoria. I haven't frequented that many in Washington, but I thought Crescent Bar was beautiful. What're your favorites?

Sort:  

This post ran right at 2000 words. I had to not say things rather than find more to say. I don't actually remember Celilo falls, but I certainly heard about them every time by. At least twice a year through my youth. My great grandmother lived in NE Portland and my father had an aunt and an uncle that lived there.

My favorite Oregon city probably has to be Pendelton. My mother was born there :) My Grandmother went to school in the Dalles and met my Grandfather there. Her grandparents homesteaded in Wasco County (near Antelope) and ended up near Pilot Rock. So, you see, I am connected to this river. End to end.

Thanks for the wonderful comment. I really do appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64