You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Star Dreadnoughts, The Death Star and Blockchain in Education

in #education6 years ago

I heard once that 1% of the people make things happen, 2% help things happen and 97% wonder what happened. I am not smart enough to make things happen but am pretty sure I helped things happen by doing everything I could to bring computers into education. Resistance was strong from the get go, school administrators would say computers are all vaporware sold by silicon snake oil sales men. But we toiled on, using our own funds to buy Apple 1's and Commodore's, fundraising for Mac's and networked PC's. We learned to code, strip wires, drill holes and struggle with modems and printers. We lobbied for Web CT and Moodle. So here we are with another fantastic tool called blockchain. I can't wait to see where it goes. Imagine a whole school or more where ALL assignments etc. where on Steemit.

Sort:  

You know what @oldmariner ? Things have not changed all that much. The 1% and 2% are still pushing things through. Being part of that 1% and 2% it can get extremely stressful lobbying for things to be done in a more efficient manner online. That being said, if it is not because of people like you who have done the groundwork for us, the next generation, I think we will probably still be stuck with pen and paper.

That's the dream having all assignments on Steemit. I'm on my study leave now, but my first project back when I start teaching again is to have assignments posted on Steemit. Heck, if you don't get an A, you at least get payouts..hahah

Brilliant plan @alvinauh, this assignment will transform their life for the better. Steem of my fellow educator!

Very true @oldmariner, it takes believers to make things happen. I'm following you now.

how is possible to using commodore?today you have cheap computers
last computer which I buyied is laptop with power 2.6Ghz 4GB ram.is it not good? :-D)

Not sure what you are asking but I am talking about 1983. I also bought and used Texas Instrument's TI 99-4's. This machine could run Logo programming language and had animated 'sprites' in the 1980's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45