You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adsactly Education - Georgia History Continued

in #education5 years ago

Who was Jim Crow? A governor, an important person? Why Jim Crow laws? As I told you before, I had heard and read a lot about Georgia's repressive history from the novel Gone with the Wind, but your summary makes it clearer to me the magnitude of discrimination. I wouldn't have liked to live in Georgia! I didn't know about Cocacola either. That is a fact that is very important to know and that I will remember from now on. What I will surely forget for stupid, the law, not me, is to say bad words in front of a dead person. Could it be that the dead can hear us and be offended? Silly laws that make me laugh. I will wait for the next delivery of Georgia. Greetings, @bigtom13.

Sort:  

Ahhhhh Nancy. I apologize. Jim Crow was the name applied to the repressive laws that started being passed just after the Civil War. It is a really broad term for quite a specific situation. It is essentially any law or practice that prohibits a group of people from enjoying the same rights as another group. I first learned to hate the term as applied to baseball. The Negro league was commonly called the Jim Crow league. It was just an awful time in our country.

I do believe I may have violated that law a time or two. Glad I didn't live in Georgia at the time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65236.24
ETH 3401.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19