Why did I ever stop #homeschooling!

in #education7 years ago

IMG-20160808-WA0007.jpg

Here you can see how relaxed, calm and beautiful my baby girls are while we sat outside on the grass doing their schoolwork.

This is because all three of us had enough sleep. Woke up without the alarms screaming in our ears and when we were ready we tackled a few of their books (that they chose from the pile).

IMG-20160808-WA0008.jpg

Once I moved back to my childhood town last year I decided that my girls needed to get involved more socially with kids their ages instead of being around adults 24/7 like I was growing up. So I enrolled them into the best playschool/school I could find in town.

The thing that's just been really getting to me actually since last year already is the fact that my kids are constantly getting snot noses, colds, mood swings etc.. and their focus points are basically non existent now with really bad anger outbursts.

We just enjoyed our LONG 3 week Summer school holidays, this was lovely but,,, with our schools opening this past Monday and we are now only on Wednesday, I already want to pull all of my hair out!

My eldest has this one girl in her class since last year who unfortunately is growing up in a very disrupted family. I have great compassion for this little girl, but I have to think of my own child first. First day back at school this little girl stole my daughter's lunch and threatened her if she dared tell her teacher etc.. now for a 7 yr old child to already be thinking this way is completely wrong in my eyes.. but that's just my 10 cents.

Our weekdays are so busy during school months that my kids are run like little hamsters from 6 am till bedtime Mon-Fri.

I just reached the point where I am just not understanding the point in putting my girls through all of this pressure, stress and drama anymore. I have come to realize that they are only children once in their lives, they deserve the right to ENJOY BEING A KID!

IMG-20160808-WA0006.jpg

I came up with a brainwave recently where I said to my husband I think it is time for us to "shed" a lot of our costly things in life, like our horses, debts etc.. (the banks are helping us with the debt's anyways cause we lost our main incomes). Ever since we got engaged we always wanted to have our kids, settle down and then when they got to a nice age where they would remember things better that they experienced, we wanted to travel and make documentaries revolving around anything and everything that we find interesting in life.. somehow with modern indoctrinated thinking we totally lost track for a while and became slaves to this modern way of "not living".

So... brainwave moment just set off a spark in our brains. :-D we both suddenly started focusing on what mattered to the two of us as a "couple" and for our kids. One of the biggest side effects we experienced during this "not living" modern methodology is our relationship nearly completely failing on us! Not because there was or is a lack of interest or affection for each other but rather complete shutdown due to being over worked, tired and financially exhausted 24/7. It's easier to walk away than work on things at that point in life I think that's why we see so many divorces lately.

Anyways.. I am very seriously considering homeschooling my girls from 2018! My only concern is truly how to keep their social side alive for them as they are both such little social bodies.. If any of you reading this have a bit of advice in this department please tell me!! ♥♥

Love you all here @steem

Sort:  

We plan on doing the same thing with our little girl (3 years old) when she gets old enough but do plan on at least starting her in a regular Pre-K so she can start modeling behaviors that we want her to develop. We have gone through challenges for instance in helping her to drink water on her own. She refuses a sippy cup and has a speech delay which we think is related.

If you are religious, attending church would he a good way to socialize which helps motivate us to be in attendance. In our case, it also helps that we have family members with children so we make it a point to get together so they may interact often. Still yet, we feel as though it is not enough which is why we look forward to enrolling her in preschool even if it is for a brief time. She gets extreme separation anxiety but it seems to be getting better. I know it is going to be challenging.

Wish you the best! I'm sure you will do fine! :)

I appreciate your input @anthonyadavisii, my eldest daughter "who I am mainly referring to in this post" she has always had a hearing problem and what I have learnt over the years is the "normal" kids who are raised in a playschool since diapers is they picked on her at playschool. So my experience was negative.. she was also slower in developing just like you are stating with your little girl, but remember everybody is different and unique, what we consider to be milestone average ages are insane as far as I'm concerned. EVERY CHILD develops at their own pace in their own way!.

Something you could also keep in the back of your mind is which vaccines your daughter has been given?! This played an extremely big role with my Mikayla's development as well. It set her back by at least a year and she stopped developing her speech, mainly because of hearing and vaccine effects and she only started speaking "normally" when she was 4 yrs old.

Yes, funny enough we have just recently found a church family where we fit in well. So at least every Sunday morning there are other kiddies with our "morals etc" that our girls can play with for a few hrs.

I wish you so much luck and love with your little girls journey ♥

I hope things work out for you, I really do, props for making a change for the better. Have an upboat. <3

Amazing story! We need more people like you, what you are doing is a true revolution! I was reading those articles here:
-> https://steemit.com/freedom/@thomasmmaker/article-a-thought-about-freedom-and-education-03
-> https://steemit.com/policyofliberty/@policyofliberty/our-great-enemy-the-government-schools-of-the-northern-hemisphere
I think they show us why you are doing the right thing! :D

Thanks for reading my post!

I am going to pop over and go read these articles A.S.A.P ;-)

i know all of your posts are wonderful, and i read them @ronaldmcatee

What a really great post.
So many who home school have rounded and intelligent offspring. Children are sponges and want to learn. Forcing them to learn a government mandated schedule of subjects is ridiculous. They'll be good at what they love. Too many kids have creativity and critical thinking drummed out of them in school these days, they're just taught to conform with the system.
It's a BS numbers game trying to create all the right stats for the government.
Home school them if you can, they'll thank you for it.

Thanks for your 10 cents on this predicament I am in with them! I have kept my girls home since writing this article, My eldest helped her dad and I work in our chem lab today making and distilling holistic products and my youngest had a blast colouring in with our receptionist for the afternoon :-D Still thinking on what to do long term..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Peachy ♥ Lilly ♥ from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

My heart breaks for you as I know the struggles you face. I can't homeschool due to lack of patience and full time work. A big part of me believes kids should go to school to prepare them for society. But the lessons are harsh. None of my children are/were happy in school. My repost today also ties into this topic. What I do believe is, if you as a parent are thinking about these issues you are doing something right!

On a side note. Reducing possessions, and lettting go of society's expectations of what you should possess, is a real shortcut to contentment. Nothing is more important than your husband and children.

Thanks so much! You are so right.. about hubby and kids being important ♥ for me though my parents pop into the list as well as you already know ;-)

♥♥

You should come pop in by mum some time again when you get a 5 min break(if that exists) haha.

We have also decided to homeschool our eldest from this schoolyear. Luckily for us there are several homeschool coops nearby our area wherein homeschooling kids can group together and socialize. I am sure there'd be groups like these in your area too.

thanks for your comment @arrliinn, unfortunately nothing in our area.. closest groups I have found are around 4 hrs away from where we live.. so this still remains a issue for me here. I wish you the very best of luck for your homeschooling adventures with your eldest ♥♥

I think homeschooling it the best option, especially since your daughter is being bullied. I think what happens in schools is that they learn from their peers - and as you are seeing they are learning how not to behave.

As far as socialization, I know in many US towns there are homeschool groups where children can come together to do things like sports or arts for interaction. I've taught several home school children music, and you would never know they were homeschooled due to how well they interact and how mature they are.

So enroll them in some after-school activities for the social aspect, but having them home where they seem happier is a great decision.

thanks friend ♥ its always so lovely to read your input!

Congratulations @mysticlilly16! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13