You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Teach [A letter to my students]

in #education7 years ago

Very inspiring article. I am a teacher too (a private one), and as you can guess easily, my students are not fan of books either...

For me the reason is simple. It is not a dislike, it is the need for immediate gratification and the current trend concerning the lack of focus.

Starting a new book, positionning oneself in context of the author and then diving into it requires effort and focus. Then, once you are in, it flows and it is a real joy. but there is this initial "activation energy" that is so hard to climb up nowadays for students.

Once, i had this student having a lack of faith in enjoying life, had serious attention issues, and I was afraid that these factors together could trigger or reinforce existing psychological problems. I searched a lot to find her a book, "the art of happyness" by the Daila Lama, in Turkish (her native language, to ease the diving-in). I got it just in time for give it to her for her 18nth Birthday. She was thrilled by the present, but I am pretty sure, she never opened it and that now, it is taking dust on a shelf...

Sort:  

Always nice to meet another teacher! I often tell my students "you don't hate books, you just haven't found the right one yet". Today I got a little thrill, one of my girls told me, "Miss, ever since you made us do this, I found out I like reading!" It made my day, month, career lol. I bought a few books on amazon for one of my boys about his hobby, bullriding, and he was so excited! So, in the end, I know that it won't touch everyone, but I'll take a couple in my career!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.62
ETH 2642.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59