ESL What Grade are you in? Activities

in #education6 years ago (edited)

Some people wonder what and ESL teacher does in a Korean classroom.

We are all working hard to motivate students to speak English. In this case it is to introduce themselves in English. The best way I can remember to introduce myself is by using the five finger method. So far almost every one of my students have five fingers and can remember one thing about themselves for each finger.
This becomes a fun activity but students can get carried away with the coloring. I usually start the class with another activity. We are supposed to learn how to answer the question, “What grade are you in?” and “Where is your classroom?”

As you can see the textbook game does not make this easy for students or clear as to what sentence they should be speaking. The textbook games suggests that students draw a heart in the square when they speak a complete dialog. That doesn’t seem to motivate my sixth graders.

For lack of time and creativity I just build a six story school with classrooms on each floor. I then labeled the class room and gave students dice. When they would answer the grade level according to the dice and answer the question about the classroom according to the square they land.

It doesn’t take a genius to really the textbook is broken. If something is broken a teacher has no no choice but to fix it. I went through ten classes of sixth graders who completed the key expressions and finished the game without fighting. Some of them even had fun. I don’t think this would happen if I stuck with the textbook plan.
6.1.2 Board Game.PNG

Peace,

@mineopoly

Sort:  

Hi Chris, yes I like the way you modified the game. You made it much clearer! The Sponge Bob poster is clever also. Did you draw it? If so, you are much more talented in the drawing the dept than I am. My nieces age 3 and age 4 keep wanting me to draw dinosaur, an elephant, etc. and I'm like I can draw shapes and flowers - haha, simple daisies and tulips.

Lines and shapes are everything. I can work with a pencil and crayons. That's all I had growing up. I found books in the library when I was 8 or nine and followed. I think the art books are too hard for most kids. Some suggestions:

shape game: Make a doodle and turn it into a character

see and sketch: Print out some pictures and follow their own version. The only problem is they cry if they are perfectionist.

Super Simple Draw: Search these words "Super simple draw" and Follow a simple Youtube video of how to draw.

Free Draw: This is what my kids do the most. They have a journal called the anything journal. They have to fill up one page a day drawing takes up more space than writing so they draw pictures there.

Thanks,

Blessing to you and the whole bunch.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53