You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Beliefs may limit our Progress?

in #education6 years ago

It’s true that beliefs can sometimes get in the way of our progress or learning, as you say. But beliefs don’t have to be limiting, no?

Another limiting belief is that there is only one correct way to learn.

It may be true that there are as many unique and effective ways to learn as there are people to experience those ways.

Back when I was lecturing, our university began to implement a system whereby students could undergo a kind of psychometric testing to see what kind of learner they were: visual, aural, etc.

So sometimes I would be teaching and a student would say, “I can’t do what you’re asking because you’re giving it to me aurally, and I’m a visual learner.”

Having access to those kinds of tests myself, I would present them with a quick test and show them how they could learn in other ways. And it worked, because in different contexts, and with different types of knowledge, we all can use different strategies in different contexts to learn.

It comes down to choice.

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44