The obvious disparity in education for children

in #education7 years ago (edited)


Source

This year has been an eyeopener for me when I consider the school district where my tax dollars go. Because of circumstances surrounding one of my grandchildren I have had the opportunity to personally evaluate the learning conditions children in my city are subjected to.

The teachers I have spoken to all echo the same complaints. Their hands are tied by regulations and lack of funding. Even though lack of funding is an issue, I see mismanagement of funds as a much larger problem. In my grandsons middle school there are cameras approximately every three feet on both sides of the hall along the ceiling. And, while I believe safety is an issue cameras have been found to be overreaching and can do more harm than good.

Unless you are among the elite, the education system that is in place for children is far less than ideal. Perhaps no one has said it better than three time winner of New York City Educator of the Year, John Taylor Gatto in his book, Dumbing Us Down The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling.

I believe there is a reason behind the disparity between the education of the elite and the rest of children in society.

If the billionaires of the world were truly concerned about the education of children Common Core would not be the educational foundation being taught. It would be the Trivium, the same education being taught to the children of the Gates, Rockefeller, and the other elite families of the world.

Sort:  

I consider public schools to be prison -- especially for the children who don't want to be there.
My unschooled children and I joke about how they don't have to go to 'prison' today.
I believe that children are MUCH better off not growing up "institutionalized."

Thanks for giving us more good information to ponder.

Thank you for your comment it is greatly appreciated. Parents need to consider the atmosphere in which their children spend the majority of the day. Children today deserve much better. I am sure your children will look back and really appreciate the opportunity they were given.

Curriculum is irrelevant if parents aren't engaged and involved in their children's education. I agree that Common Core is a joke but most of 'Murica is too busy watching Reality TV to have much of a future anyway. If parents aren't taking an active part in their kids' educations, changing the curriculum won't make any difference.

@natevegas - he ran into one of his old teachers and made a post about what she said. I'm going to find the title.
It's called "Conversation with my 7th grade English teacher" posted 27 days ago.
And Nate wants to spread the word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50