I Was The Only Girl In Wood Shop Class In High School

in #education7 years ago (edited)

It's funny what you'll find when exploring the basement of your mother's house. While exploring the other day I found a bird house. It was my bird house that I built around 18 years ago in my junior high school shop class.

My Bird House Painted My School's Colors (orange and black)

IMG_7394.JPG

I remember that I had a choice. For the 3 years I would be in junior high I could join my junior high school's marching band or I could take four 9 week long classes every school year. The four classes included a music class, shop class, a computer class, and a writing class. Having no musical talent I chose the four 9 week long classes. I really wanted to take shop class and learn to use power tools.

The Only Girl

The last year of junior high there were 2 of us girls in the class in the beginning. After a month the other girl disappeared. She was kind of a slacker so I have no idea where she went. After she left it was just me and a bunch of boys. I didn't mind. The teacher was nice to me and looked out for me. I learned useful skill use today as my husband and I renovate our house.

I learned to make a birdhouse, CD shelf, CO2 car, and other fun projects. I think I still have the CD shelf in a box somewhere. The birdhouse never got used outdoors. I was proud it turned out so nice so it sat on a shelf in my room as a kid.

Now that I have a house of my own maybe it's time to put it outside!


Follow Me Update.jpg

Sort:  

We build some awful windmill type thing XD

lol. Interesting kind of project. Sorry it was aweful :)

When I was in Junior high we had shop classes and we had quite a few girls in each one. I can't remember which I loved better: wood shop or metal shop. To this day I have a mild obsession with power tools and could hang out at the hardware store all day long. LOL

Me too! I love my power tools. I'm building some shelves right now with old pallets. Funny thing is a few years later in high school I ended up being the only girl in an agriculture class too. I guess I was the only tomboy.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

@creativesoul That is so kind of you. Thank you so much!

Ok.you have no excuse not to build some impenetrable raised beds!! Using power tools is one of my favorite things! I'm working on a little chicken coop at the moment!! It's so close!

Oh I'm really enjoying meeting you. We have a lot in common I feel. Next year I so want to get chickens. My husband and I are making plans and doing our research.

Yess!!! We are RENTING 2 hens right now because we weren't 100% sure if it was going to be for us. But 2 days ago I called the farmer and said I definitely want to keep them and add one or two more to their little family too! (That's why I'm building a coop that can hold up to 5).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66