Executive functions -- I'm supposed to work on a paper but I'm Steeming

in #education7 years ago

As a teacher at a school for students with reading language disabilities, including dyslexia and language processing weaknesses, it is expected that the students will have challenges with their executive functions. They are considered comorbid with dyslexia. Now, I don't have dyslexia, although my husband and mother do, I still have some executive function challenges.

What am I talking about?

It is the ability to plan and organize in order to complete a task. In order to pick up the pencil on the floor, I have to realize that the pencil is on the floor. I then have to know where on the floor it is and once I decided that it is a good idea to pick it up. I need to start moving. First, I need to SHIFT my attention so that I stop typing and then think about how I'm going to move. I need to PLAN my movements so that I don't hurt myself, the computer or knock the drink on the floor that is sitting near me. I also have to be AWARE of those, even if they are only in my peripheral vision. Now, to start moving, I tell my body to move and carefully place the computer to the side and hopefully, with awareness of the kitten sleeping beside me, I place the computer on the table. Now, I can reach down on the floor and pick up the pencil and the be aware that putting the pencil back on the table is not where it belongs. Once I make the decision to put the pencil in the pencil cup, I now need to get the pencil there. .......

I'm now exhausted and ready for a nap. Which means, if I'm a 4 year old child or an 8 year old with ADHD, I've just used as much as my EF skills that I can manage and now I'm going to go into melt-down mode out of sheer exhaustion and frustration.

images.jpg

Do you have a spouse, friend or relative with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder? Maybe they also have dyslexia.

What are some of your experiences with EF/ADHD challenges?

Sort:  

Congratulations @mally! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68857.19
ETH 2715.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72