You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adsactly Education - Mississippi River European Contact and Beyond

in #education6 years ago

Hello friends @bigtom13, I hope you and all the writers of @adsactly are well, in my comment I'll leave the whole story aside, except for the approximately 6 million deaths in Mississippi, where I'll just say that if that hadn't happened maybe the whole USA or that part of the USA would have been overpopulated.

Now, yes, I will talk about the footprint of the famous but not so famous De Soto, although he considered his entire mission to be a fraud, and with sufficient reasons, some of them not refutable, today we realize that De Soto's footprint was not a failure, on the contrary, De Soto remained in the history of Mississippi, therefore, in the history of the United States of America, either for better or for worse.....

I have a question for you friend @bigtom13, how true is it that De Soto comes out as a ghost on the banks of the Mississippi River? I've heard that, I don't know anything because I haven't had the chance to travel there yet, but I'd like to know if it's real or just a myth...

Without further ado I wish blessings to the entire @adsactly group, especially to you friend @bigtom13 for your good content! Greetings to all from Venezuela.

Sort:  

I think it to be just a myth. But I do know that De Soto died on the banks of the Mississippi (of fever) with his troop in disarray. No one knows exactly where he died or was buried. In fact, it's thought that his loyal followers may have put his body in weighted blankets and sunk it in the river. Which would be fitting, somehow. He was the first European to record the Mississippi.

As far as the population density of the valley, it was really quite dense. They had a well structured agricultural basis and lots of craftsmen and tradesmen living in cities and villages. They had a city larger than London (the largest city in Europe) for a couple of hundred years. 6 million would have been roughly 70% of the population.

Thank you for the wonderful comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63