My First Day In Boarding School

in #education7 years ago

In Nigeria, One of the most amazing experience any teenager will have/ boast of is the boarding school experience. That of course is for those who survived the 6 years of secondary school education. Read to the end and I'll carefully narrate my first day in a boarding school and the events that preceded it. Happy reading.

I remember vividly my first day in boarding school and the events that preceded it.

I was just 10 (primary 5), when I wrote the Gifted and Talented Students Scholarship exams, my friend Wisdom will remember this exam. During the July/August holiday, I was invited for interview following the result of the exam, I don't really know, it happened so fast, within the twinkling of an eye mum was already buying stuffs for me to resume school in September.

Initially mum wanted me to be a day student. But I protested, after everything my elder brother and sister told me about boarding life, I really wanted to be a boarder.

"do you know seniors will tell you to kneel down and they'll flog you? They'll send you to fetch their water and wash their plates" my sister will tell me, I felt she was exaggerating, how can someone tell her to kneel down as big as she was. (my sister was really tall at the time, as a JSS2 big girl, I couldn't picture anyone flogging her).

Then my elder brother always told me about ghosts in his school, ma'am koikoi, bush baby and so many other things which sounded so surreal to be real. He said sometimes seniors will pour water on the floor and ask you to roll in the dirt while flogging you. Haha, you don't say! Tell me something!


Fast forward to September, everything was in place except my classroom locker, I know that carpenter won't forget me till date, I disturbed him ehhn! Everytime I go to check the progress of the locker, I won't see anything tangible.

"bro where is my locker" I'd ask the carpenter.
"I'm almost done, it's just remaining to knack am together" he'd say pointing at woods which looked far from "almost done"

Hian! I went to his shop everyday, one time I told him my father said he should finish the locker fast, otherwise police will be involved, Ofcourse my father didn't say anything like that. As a matter of fact, if he knew I still went back there to disturb the man, my case would be different. LoL.

Finally a day to departure, mum and dad took me around the neighborhood to greet people good bye, some gave me little amount of money, they were all happy for me, I know most people won't relate, don't worry I live in the village, the setting doesn't permit you to wake up and travel just like that, you have to inform your neighbors, if not they'll assume you're on in good terms with them.

"ka se etuk ndiana" (look at small ndiana) the women said clapping their hands in amusement.

"will he be able to cope? Can he wash his clothes? I heard they use to wake up 5am, will he be able to wake up like that? Oh, uduk nsekeyen!" my mum was just smiling and telling them that I'm a big boy, that I'll be just fine.


On the D day, after church service, everyone (my siblings and the help) helped in carrying out my stuffs, mattress, provision locker and classroom locker, bucket, hoe, cutlass, box, broom and several other things, to the car where my dad and Elder brother loaded them neatly into the car.

I wore my day wear, a navy short and blue shirt, and heavy navy blue socks, mum added color to my dressing by pinning a white kerchief on the uniform (trust my mum to be extra),
"there, that will make you look smart" she said. I didn't mind.

I bade everyone goodbye, my brothers were teary eyed, I was the life of the house, a charter box, everyone said they'll miss me. Like I cared? Abeg ✋,

I wanted to be a boarder so bad, I danced around the parlor the day mum bought provisions for me, two tins of Milo and milk, cornflakes, golden morn! All for me? Boarding school can't be that bad naa, something that before you can take 3 spoons of Milo in the house you have to show mum.

The drive to school was way longer than I had imagined, mum even stopped occasionally to buy extra things, like bread, finger battery, fruits. But at last we pulled up in front of the school, the sign post read "Chris Model International High School"

"We're here" dad announced. I almost jumped out of my skin in excitement.

"new or returning student" a man asked, then he ushered us in to where new students were welcomed.

All the children there were crying, I didn't understand why, that's where I met two of my first friends, Collins and Matthew Nzom, they were igbo, these guys were begging to go home, some had to be given biscuits and mineral to calm them down.

One parent even asked my mum how she kept me from crying and she simply replied "she's a big boy"

After all the check-in procedures, I was taken to the hostel, I still remember my bunk number, it was 006, upbunk. Matthew was given a down bunk. Some funny events led to me sleeping down bunk later in the term.

After being given a bunk, I went back to bid my parents goodbye, dad gave me pocket money of ₦500 after asking what I'd need it for, as they'll be visiting me often. Or guy man, I need money plixxx.(lol)

That night, I changed into my beautiful nightie, and started catwalking to the refectory, you needed to see how everyone screamed at me at once, "where is this tiny boy going with a nightie "? Someone I later found out to be senior Mfonobong said.

I didn't even know nightie was supposed to be worn just in the hostel, I felt since it was night, I could wear my night wear.

I met Juliet and Judith Chidiadi in the dining, they were twins, they asked me to be their friend and I accepted, LoL. Our friendship almost ended the minute they couldn't pronounce my name, they kept saying "nnadianabasi" instead of "Ndianabasi", I was so pissed, I felt they did it on purpose, I had to guide them,

" Nnn - dia- na- basi" they finally got it after several attempts.

We retired for the night after evening devotion, my side of the hostel was fun, I was making it lively, everyone around me laughed, since it was dark many people couldn't see who was making them laugh so much, "who's this boy"

I was having fun until mr Ekpo walked in unannounced, "who are those making noise? Come out now!"

Ahan, small play ooo, that's how we were asked to kneel down, me, Juliet and Judith, Matthew and Ebenezerr Frank the cry baby.

The end!
I'm dedicating this to my CMIS family, I love you guys. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Hah, yeah, pretty good story, I haven't had that experience, but I'd love to try it. Thanks for sharing this! I used to use edusson.com for application essay writing service, it helps me a lot with my beginnings in the given field. I, since school I was bad at essay writing so this source helped me a lot, besides this I am now doing my studies in this field and I hope soon I will be able to become a teacher to teach this to other students.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66