You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is a College Degree Worth It?

in #education7 years ago

I am the first person in my family to graduate college. It was always taught to me,"If you want to be successful, go to college". I now know that is the completely wrong reason to go to college!

There are so many ways to be successful without going to college. A piece of paper does not automatically equal success. That is the main thing I share with people.

I do not advocate against college, I just try to help people truly reflect on what they are trying to accomplish. Sometimes college is the best avenue to accomplish their goal, other times it is not.

People forget that real world learning and experience is an education that is tuition free.

Sort:  

A piece of paper does not automatically equal success.

Agreed. As you say, there is real world learning and experience that is tuition free. The individual must have a direction they want to go, and understand what that path entails - whether that is college or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50