Students working together in a group

in #education7 years ago

group.jpg

During my first 6 weeks of school this year, I have discovered that my 6th graders are having a very difficult time working in a group setting. Since I teach science and focus on inquiry and STEM based learning, my students work in groups for a good portion of the class time.

images.jpg

They need to be able to communicate with each other as they brainstorm with each other and create solutions for a task that has been given to them. What I have discovered, is that this year, my students can not work in a group. They have a difficult time communicating with each other. I find that one student takes the lead and does not want to listen to others in their group. My peers and I have discussed this observation and tend to blame our over use of technology. I can place a computer in front of my students and give them a task, and most will complete the task with little difficulty. However, communication is difficult.

group 2.jpg

I have had to incorporate in my lessons the skills required for students to be able to work in groups. This is an important skill that students need to be able to grasp or they will not be able to be successful in the real world. I feel that it is important for students to learn this skill in their earlier school years. It is not something that can be neglected in our students learning. Social skills are so important!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48