You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teaching Teenagers about the Magna Carta

in #education8 years ago (edited)

Love history, especially my own country's England - we have so much and its so interesting, especially Medeival history.
The orginal charter only lasted a matter of months as the Pope annuled it - it was resurected 4 times by 2 different Kings and finally came into Statute in 1297 under Edward 1- this time in history is fasinating as a lot of the laws and statutes pass them have evolved in to Common Law and still stand today.
Something that I found very similar is the complaints that lead to the Magna Carta were not dissimilar from those that prompted the American Revolution.!
Horrible Histories are great - my girls loved them and the books, learnt so much from them - your class should love these , lots of info but in a fun way .
great post

Sort:  

under Edward 1

Worst. King. Ever.

(movie fans will recognize him as bad guy from braveheart, but he also tossed my ancestors out of england)

... if I had two years, I'd show a slightly edited version of that movie (my kids are only 15). I know it has been put through the Hollywood spin machine, but it is an awesome example of revolution. Plus it has a line similar to Spartacus "I know you can fight... He has courage; so does a dog"

so right there- but boy what an interesting time in History -

Thank you for the added info! I love hearing the perspective of the people from the areas we study in my world history. I'm in the U.S. so even though it's "world history" the class clearly has a U.S. bias.

thankyou - I don't know American history so well, very little to be honest. We tend to teach English ( obvs) and European this side of the pond - American history is touched on a little. I ought to go read up a bit more to be more informed. Love all history really- hope your class appreciated your efforts:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43