Grad School, here I come!!!

in #education5 years ago

This post is out of the normal topic I post, but I'm so excited I just have to share with everyone!
So, I decided last fall that I wan't to go back to college to get a degree in data science. I know most of the maths, and am a developer at work, so I have most of the skills I need for machine learning. But what I'm lacking is that official sigil that says I meat the minimum requirements to be a data scientist.
I researched schools with online data science masters programs.
From the top ten I selected my first choice and an alternate.
Johns Hopkins University (first choice)
Utica College (alternate)

I had my husband, the English major, help me write a letter of intent, wrote emails to my college math professors and my boss and co-works asking for reccomendations, and then submitted my packets to the schools. It only cost me about $5 per application to get a copy of my transcripts sent from my undergrad school. And then I waited.

And last week I got an email from Utica stating that I'd been accepted into their program. I was so excited I almost didn't care that I hand't heard back from my first choice. BUT, today I got the email with my acceptance to Johns Hopkins Univeristy attached. A paper copy is coming in the mail, but.... OMG! I got accepted to Johns Hopkins!!!

So exicited.
Now to figure out how to pay for it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lacey.byington! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65342.69
ETH 3543.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39