My Experience on Campus Part one; My Earliest days in School

in #education7 years ago

When I first gained admission into the University, between 2012/2013 as a teen I was very excited because it has always been my dream to go to the University. Even though studying chemistry was not what I wanted, my joy knew no bound because I was leaving home to be independent.

My first day on campus was hectic, I was referred to as Jambite (as newly admitted student are being called) but with the zeal and determination to succeed I believed I would scale through it. For Jambites like me there are processes you go through before you can be address as a full student of my School..Such processes include Academic and Medical clearance. This is the most stressful part of being a Student.

I can remember vividly, waking up by 6;00am, hoping to be the first in the screening ground but on getting there, there were over a hundred persons present already. I wondered if they slept in school or in their houses. The funny part of it was that, by the time it’s noon, the supervisor told us she is tired and closing for the day , with less than 10 Persons screened. You can imagine how stressful it could be leaving your house that early without achieving what you went for.

Still a kid then without little or no experience about school. After three failed attempts I decided to give up because the stress was too much for me to bear as a teen. School wasn’t fun or a bed of rose as I thought anymore. It was on a Friday afternoon I picked up a few things and left for home, I arrived at about 6;00pm, mum haven’t returned from her shop, I had to wait till evening…

hey…welcome back…our big girl…how was school.

Those were from our neighbors, they were greeting and welcoming me back home, thinking I just came back for the weekend not knowing I have other plans. How could I tell them I’m done? What will happened to the warm reception I received, those questions kept pondering in my heart…In as much as i wouldn’t want to go back to school I still could not let go of the warm reception I just received from friends and neighbors. I immediately changed my mind, I knew going back to school is the only option for me now, so I decided to endure all the troubles associated with the screening and take the bull by the horn.

When mum came back from the market she was so excite to see her little girl back from school…..because I have changed my mind; I told her I came just to spend the weekend with her. That weekend was the best weekend ever, I had peace and was free from every form of school stress, I prayed silently that the weekend doesn’t end. Then came Sunday evening, I left home for school; got to the hostel with no one to welcome me because I haven’t had any friend yet.

13263662_989264684504564_6873780250633548598_n.jpg

To be Continued......

Sort:  

Hehehe! First year in school always had stress attached to it.
I anticipate for the other part of the story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61