4 MYTHS ABOUT SCHOOLsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #education6 years ago (edited)

What do Americans people say about the public education system? Well, in a survey done in 2012, people were asked to grade the public schools nationally. A, B, C, D or fail. (A obviously being the highest.)  

Prepare yourselves.                                                        

 Only 19% of the people taking part in the survey answered A or B.                                                

What does this mean?                                                                                   

It means that less than 20% of people think that public schools are actually effective. A and B being excellent and above average. This is shocking, I know. It means that the other 81% of American people believe the american education system is below average.                                                                                           Ill let that sink in.

But what are the main differences between Public school and Private schools? Well lets just say if you've never been to a public school, count yourself as lucky. 

For me right now, school (and i go to a public school)its...not the greatest thing in the world. For one thing, the class sizes are, not overcrowded but a little more breathing space would be appreciated.                    Another thing my private school friends are always going on about is how everyone is always so EXCITED to go to school. I could actually understand that. I mean, with fully functional art departments and state-of-the-art science programs, (and teachers who actually give a damn), who wouldn't want to show up everyday?                                                                                                                     

Unfortunately for us public schoolers, its not all that great for us? I cant be the only one thinking this right?

So, 4 myths about public schools in my opinion. 

1. Public schoolers are more social and have better social skills.                                                           I mean, honestly? Just because our classes are bigger and there are more people overall in the school doesn't mean we're going to talk to everyone. In my case, there are groups who do everything together and basically only talk with each other. Unless of course they want your homework answers, in which case, they'll generally use the minimum amount of words possible.                                                                       Basically, everyone has there own groups. We like to stick to those groups as much as possible. Socializing or talking to new people is mostly out of the question. So no, in my opinion, us public schoolers are pretty much as anti-social as you Private schoolers.


2. All Public education is really crappy.                                                                                                     Um, not true. First of all, I know I said we don't have as many facilities available as private schools but that doesn't mean we don't have any. I mean, some teachers do actually care about educating their students, as hard as it is to believe. The major subjects like mathematics or science is taken quite seriously at my school, its just that we don't exactly have the funds for over-the-top science equipment.                                                We do however, have a well stocked library, basic sports facilities and and some genuinely good teachers. But comparing our school to Private schools, I get how it could seem crappy.


3. If you don't go to a Private school, you're poor.                                                                                           I don't think we should bring money into this. Yes, money is a massive part of our economy and its whats fuels or education system and what essentially motivates most of us to work hard and get jobs. But just because your attending a Public school does not mean your poor. Take me for example. My family is a normal middle class family. We could probably afford private education but because my older brother was in this public school, I, by default now go to this school.It is also a matter of convenience. my public school is in walking distance of my home whereas most of the private schools are further away. So no. Just because I current go to a public school doesn't mean we cannot afford a private school.

4. Not enough money is being spent on Public education.                                                                    Okay. Tough one. I stand to be corrected but in my humble opinion, there is enough money spent of education, its just...people don't know HOW to spend that money. Okay hold up. Before you go into the comments and start disagreeing with me, let me explain myself.                                                                             In  South Africa, where I live at the moment, our government spends a higher portion of its budget on  public education that the United States or the United Kingdom. BUT. We have one of the worst education systems in the world.  Why?                                                                                                                                                                                       What this is saying is that The United states and United kingdom spend less on education but get better results. I guess this kind of proves my point that there is enough money being spent on education, but Ministers, government departments and government officials have no idea how to spend the money. Maybe we need to educate our ministers on how to educate us right? Just a thought.      

anyway. This whole article is just some thoughts I've had on education and some misunderstandings i hope I've corrected or given my opinion on.  To end off here is a quote to make you think a little...

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                I'm entirely uneducated. I went to public school - public in the American sense - a blue-collar, working-class school. I never got a scholarship, I left when I was 15, never did any exams. -Rupert Graves\

I hope you enjoyed my writing and some comments, questions and criticism would be highly appreciated!  

Some questions i would i would love to know about you: 

:what type of school do/did you go to? Private or Public? 

: Were you home schooled? How is/was that working out for you? What is your opinion on home-schooling?

:How do you feel about the quality of public education where you come from?

Thank you and I wish you all the best

Hannah.

https://www.fin24.com/Economy/sa-spends-more-on-education-than-us-uk-and-germany-20170105

https://www.economist.com/news/middle-east-and-africa/21713858-why-it-bottom-class-south-africa-has-one-worlds-worst-education

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2014/03/18/50-terrible-ideas-for-improving-schools/?utm_term=.a04b59dd7180

https://www.thoughtco.commajor-differences-between-public-and-private-2773898

https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/post/poll-americans-views-on-public-education/2012/08/22/37203c5a-ebcf-11e1-aca7-272630dfd152_blog.html?utm_term=.9dc392597a9a


Sort:  

Congratulations @justhannaa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @justhannaa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43