Public Schooling Didnt Teach Me How To Read...The "Goosebumps" Series Did That.

in #education7 years ago (edited)


I shared my views on government indoctrination (public school) earlier today and a ton of people made the assumption that I learned how to read and write in school.

This is untrue, I struggled terribly with instruction from teachers, everything went in one ear and out the other...I had to be tutored at home and that was a little bit better, but still tough. They thought I was never going to learn how to read and made all sorts of crazy recommendations to my family...Tried to put me on a bunch of medication, that my family luckily declined.

Then one day I discovered the Goosebumps series and I had a break through, and was able to teach myself to read with the help of my family. Probably because it was the first time I tried to read something that actually interested me. IMAGINE THAT!

But that didn't change my ability to retain information from the teachers, their instruction still went in one ear and out the other, because it felt like torture, not learning.

So eventually I would bring in books that I was interested in and read them to myself in class, I regularly got in trouble for this too. Not just fiction either, a lot of history as well.

If some people value school and have the ability to learn that way, and if some children don't feel like they are being tortured there, that's great for them, but their experience does not cancel the experience of those of us who don't learn well in classrooms, and we should not be submitted to that torture if its not for us.

Again, this is the problem with one size fits all solutions, standardization, and uniformity in a world of diverse people who have diverse needs and preferences.

Many teachers try hard to work against this problem in the curriculum, but the problem is with the system, not the teachers, they are many times victims of the system as well.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Please upvote, follow and resteem if you enjoyed my article and I will return the favor in the comments!

John Vibes is an author and researcher who organizes a number of large events including the Free Your Mind Conference. He also has a publishing company where he offers a censorship free platform for both fiction and non-fiction writers. John is currently battling cancer , and will be working to help others through his experience, if you wish to contribute to his treatments consider subscribing to his podcast to support at https://www.patreon.com/johnvibes

Sort:  

I did very well in the government school system & absorbed most every thing they threw at me. The problem is that once I woke up I had to unlearn most of thst junk. What a waist.

I'm feel sorry that you didn't learn from your teacher. As a public school teacher, I'm currently contemplating if I am horrible in teaching too. I hope not. Despite that, I do agree with you that students learn differently. It's just that, it's pretty tough to cater all those differences especially without resources. Although, I am trying my best to be an effective teacher. :-)

I don't think it is a problem with the teachers, I think it is a problem with the system. The system tries to put all of the children in the same box when every human being is different and learn differently. Many of the teachers are victims in this too. They are forced to teach in a certain way, when many times they would like to use their own judgement.

I did have a few good teachers along the way who encouraged me to keep writing, but they werent afraid to do things a bit differently.

Because it's easy for them to say, "If you don't like the system, get out from the system." That's definitely not a good idea for someone who's relying in the job. So, sometimes, we're left with no choice. Sadly.

yea absolutely, those few cool teachers that I had really made my day so much easier to get through. When I would get into those teacher's classrooms I felt like it was my one hour of real learning every day lol.

I'm glad your it wasn't that horrible. That teacher must really be outstanding for you to remember him or her. :D

I had some great experiences in school and some terrible ones. I always loved learning, but some teachers made it more difficult than others. Now I'm a teacher and I try to make my lessons as personable as possible so students don't get lost in "the system." And good for you and your parents for not putting you on any medication!
This is a good read for educators and parents alike.

Thank you for being understanding and not taking offense. The community and discussion here on steemit is great. And as I said to the other teacher above, I think the teachers are victims in this too, and I applaud those that have the courage to work outside of the curriculum.

There are teachers that strive to educate their students, and then there are those that simply roll with the punches. The major thing that doesn't help is that curriculum is set by law makers that have never been educators. They don't have a clue of what we see and experience.

Thanks for sharing your wisdom. I work in the schools and do my best to subvert the system by allowing the kids to learn about social skills and relationships(through gardening). I have a story that I use and I would like to share it with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65