You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adsactly Education - Snake River

in #education6 years ago (edited)

I drive by that barge terminal all the time. It’s about 1/2 -3/4 of a mile before the Snake river pours into the Mighty Columbia River.
Most think of Washington state as a very woodsy and rainy place. It’s far from that. The east side is desert and these rivers and dams are what keep the farming alive and well on the eastern side of the state. Barges are constantly carrying grain from the eastern side of the state to the Pacific Ocean, through all dams on be Columbia and Snake rivers. To be distributed all over the world.

Sort:  

I was in my brother's boat when I took that picture! He lives in Kennewick. I was there for 10 days with a bit of a mechanical problem. I grew up on a farm straight north of there. We sent a lot of wheat down the river for a fact.

No kidding, what a small world. I grew up in Kennewick and lived in the waters of the Columbia and Snake Rivers during the summer time. Evening out on the family boat, man I miss those days.

Oh and the island to the east of where you took that picture. Strawberry island great little spot with some sandy beaches

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87