E-LEARNING PLATFORM WILL NOT MAKE TEACHING EASIER

in #education5 years ago (edited)

Cover3.jpg

It is wrong to say that the e-learning platform of all kinds is making the teaching job easier. This is a negative perception. An online educator/teacher/instructor who dwells on this mindset is most likely to fail in facilitating successful instructions that involve the use of e-learning facilities. The mindset alone has a psychological indication, which gives an impression to your own thinking, whether you realize it or not, that it is not necessary to make use of your own creativity in conducting e-learning activities. While the use of ICT in education is overwhelmingly beneficial according to a lot of studies, it is also supported by research that ICT does not automatically contribute to the quality of learning, which indicates how important it is to have a live person(THE TEACHER) being the master in facilitating the use of e-learning platform to its full effectiveness, in order to come up with the best learning outcome possible for the students.



Image by Michal Jarmoluk from Pixabay

The use of computers has created the idea that things become easier to deal with. That teaching is now easier because we have the technology. If you will carefully analyze this idea, it is actually a wrong notion. The impact of technology on education is actually the increase in efficiency and productivity of the service but not literally making the teaching job easier. The use of e-learning platform actually demands more skill, creativity, and new ideas from you as an e-learning facilitator. It demands that you must have a solid background of the technology itself, such as technical knowledge of the hardware and software of computer systems, operating systems, browsers, search engines, applications, applicable web-technologies, as well as some level of troubleshooting skills when this system fails during your conduct of teaching. It also demands your ability to apply existing pedagogies in an online environment, and your ability to create online content in a variety of formats, using the most efficient and accessible platform for the learners, etc.

online-4091231_1920.jpg


Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

The idea that "e-learning platform makes teachers more productive rather than making the job easier" is actually one of the many perceptions that I discussed as a resource speaker in a seminar for high school e-learning teachers held last 28th of May, 2019 at the Schools Division Office of Marikina City here in the Philippines. My topic on the seminar was about "Online Teaching Strategies, Methods, Approaches" . One of the concepts that I stressed during my discussion was the importance of having the right mindset, perception, and understanding of the nature of online teaching.

collage.jpg

In one of my slides, I have presented "POSITIVE and NEGATIVE PERCEPTION on E-LEARNING PLATFORM" and these perceptions are the following:

Online Teaching Strategies, Methods, Approaches2.jpg

NEGATIVE POSITIVE
This e-learning platform makes my JOB easier. This platform makes me more productive.
This platform is hard to learn. This platform provides me a new learning experience.
I’ll just send an email to my student and I am done for the day. I’ll keep my student up-to-date and engaged about our learning sessions.
I’ll just send them a slide presentation, all info is in there anyway. I will show and present well my presentation to my learners.
Just read your scores in the platform. I’d be happy to provide my own feedback for my learners.
The platform is faulty. I optimize the use of the platform
The platform is enough for the students to learn. My students need me.

As you can see it is just a matter of how you look at a particular situation, but the same situation affects two people differently. In my own experience and observation, whenever there is a new technology that is going to be implemented for instruction, some teachers react positively and some are not, some are excited to learn about it but some find it as an additional burden for their job, some believe it can help them but some have doubts, most think that the e-learning is a solution to make teaching easier but it is actually not. A conception of belief that we need to completely dismiss from our mind. E-Learning platform can be utilized to catapult learning to a level far from the result of traditional instruction but it demands sets of skills including but not limited to technical skills, creativity, and innovation.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

I hope that this has been informative for you.


Thank you for reading. Peace out.




Vote: @surpassinggoogle, @steemgigs, @deveerei, @bayanihan, @rcarter , @curie , @blocktrades , @neoxian , @liondani , @precise @pharesim , @good-karma, @roelandp , @jerrybanfield , @arcange and @adsactly

Sort:  

When I was faced with the challenge of developing effective training courses for mobile devices, I turned to iSpring Solutions https://www.ispringsolutions.com/solutions/mobile-learning-software . Their mobile learning software turned out to be the perfect solution. Using their tools, I was able to create interactive and responsive courses that are supported on a variety of devices. They provided me with a wide range of opportunities including creating multimedia presentations, testing knowledge and tracking learning progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93