Feeling A Little Shitty? Set An Intention.

in #education6 years ago (edited)

"Is There More To Life Than This? "

Alot of us want to "make things happen" in our lives. Or - deep down inside of us, we just know that we want change.

We sense that our lives are barely satisfactory.

We feel this naggy feeling of an underlying discontent that is knawing away at us - something that we try to ignore or look away from in the busy-ness and rush of our lives.

Alternatively, we "attempt" to cover up that naggy feeling with pursuits of activities - either with work after work, over-socializing, over-working out, a constant over-doing of stuff - including a consistent scrolling of our social media feed or a series of Netflix overdose.



Feeling Out Of Control...In A Controlled Environment

In countries and nations all around the world, we agree (or not) that things are governed in such a way that there is predictability and control. There are rules and regulations in play to keep us at check.

We have a routine of about 9-5. (Well, for most of us anyway.)





We go to bed at a certain time. - (or not).





We drive by traffic rules - (or not).





We try not to park on yellow lines to avoid traffic summons and car clamps - (or not - I had mine clamped 3 weeks back).

We basically pretty much try not to do anything which could get us into trouble with law.

Yet for the lawmakers, the rulers, right down to the ordinary citizens such as you and me, we would be lying to ourselves if we really do believe a 100% that our lives are in control. I don't need to state the obvious that no one actually really knows what is going to happen tomorrow.




Nevermind that. Sometimes, we just feel shitty.

Whatever you might be feeling, here is the reason for this post.

Why The Power Of Intention Will Be Useful For You



Think of it like you are putting an order - only that, this order goes into the catalog of the Universe.



You are ordering off the menu of the potential invisible possibilities (the problem being is, it is invisible, hence you can't really see, hear, smell, taste or touch it at this point.)

BUT, sometimes, we can sense it, agree?

Sometimes we can somehow sense, or know a potential outcome of a certain situation.

Sometimes however, we don't.

So here is how Intention Setting might help.

1. You Get To Control

When you set out the Intention that you want something to work in a certain way, or for specific outcome, you have introduced one controlling factor into the equation, namely, the fact that you set the intention.

Given we can't have control over the series of circumstances that happens after that, the variable controlling factor is that you set your Intention for things to work out - which brings us to the next point.

2. Thoughts Become Things

Setting your intention kicks your brain into gear. When you determine for things to work out in a certain way, your brains have the capacity to start directing its intelligence outward and look for solutions.

In fact, try this experiment.

"I intend to see blue cars (or whatever you wish to see) for the next 72 hours."

Make a note of all the blue cars you see in the next 72 hours- you might see more blue cars on the road, you might see them on billboards, on magazines, stationaries, on a shirt - anything, anywhere!

3. A Habitual Set Response

In times of my personal life chaos, order is restructured when I set an intention to make it happen.

In these times, I am looking for peace of mind, less stress, less worry etc. In other times, in what I call "self-imposed" chaos, (where I don't feel I am good enough, or I am not doing enough), I have developed a system of set response to stop my mind from going out of control.




No, of course it is not easy to switch your brain mode to "set an intention" when shits hitting the fan.

But do you know how to form a new habit?

Well, research has shown that every time you resist an old impulse/habit, new neural pathways are formed in your brain for the new habit to take place.

The only way now is to allow the new habit to form, is to keep persisting with this new habit.






My Personal Set Response

My personal set response consist of whipping out my favourite notebook and a pen, deep breath in, and asking questions like:

"What do I really feel right now? Why do I feel this way?"

"What sparked this feeling? Is there anything I can do about it?"

"What is the first thing I can do now to make myself feel better?""

And then I make sure I do it.- Even if it means doing nothing.


See how methodical this can get?

Yet this is why I call setting the Intention one of the only variable controlling factor we could have over our lives in a situation which is spiralling out of control.

The more I practice a set response when I set an intention, the more engrained this habit become, making it easier for me to manage myself when all hell is breaking loose.

The idea is you catch on and make this work for you too. Who knows? Try it and see.


If you like what you see, follow me and upvote!

I am absolutely passionate about being able to create content that will create value in YOUR life and which will help you live more amazing lives. All of your support will go in to supporting my passion to be able to live what matters for me, that is to share and give back to the community.

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97