You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Higher Education: is it relevant?

in #education8 years ago

I think a society does well with an equal emphasis on training tradepeople in blue collar work. That's one thing I appreciate about Australia's educational system. It's socially acceptable for a kid to leave high school at 16 to learn a trade. In the USA, this person would be considered a low life uneducated bum. The US university system will experience major changes in the coming years when the student loan bubble bursts.

Sort:  

I read that in Australia the most balanced and effective education system.

I suffered through this allegedly effective education system. It might be effective for joe average but it stunts the growth of the exceptional. I actually had a teacher one time refuse to let us do a particular topic that I was absolutely bursting with enthusiasm, yet this c*nt was more than happy to burn me for not turning in my assignments. I told this asshole, I WANT TO WRITE THIS. crickets chirping He literally said, 'No, because you want to do it'. I was gobsmacked.

It was the book Nineteen Eighty Four, by the way. I had already read it and I was bursting with things to say about it, that I actually wanted to write, and I would have gone home that afternoon if he'd not refused to let us do it, and written a perfect A+ assignment and submitted it the next day.

So this is your wonderous australian education system. People succeed in australia in academic fields mainly because of rich parents, not because of talent.

I want to believe that it was an isolated incident and you were just unlucky that you ran into this asshole :)

I seriously doubt it. I have heard other people talk about their experiences in the system and the term 'tall poppy syndrome' is absolutely applicable to the australian education system. You can only succeed if you are talented in australia if someone will capitalise you.

Being so abrasive and anti-authoritarian, I was cut down repeatedly, brutally, cruelly, and even, I think it started to make me feel like my blessing was a curse.

This is also why I was so excited when I came to Bulgaria. There isn't a wealth of capitalists here, but a lot of anti-authoritarians. So I am with my own kind here. Nobody gets in your way in this country, unless you try to grab their high position. I really have to say it, it's the most capitalist country I have ever seen. Everyone is running a hustle here. It can be hard to find friends, but if you are working a niche, nobody gets in your way, at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44