How to learn Languages more easily / TIPS & TRICKS

in #education7 years ago

Hi Steemians!

Today I'm posting a really old video I filmed four years ago (so excuse my awkwardness :'D) but that appears to have been really helpful to my Youtube audience, so I thought maybe you'd enjoy it as well.

Since English is not my mother tongue I share a little bit of my English learning experience in this video - specifically, what I did to get from speaking English "just fine" to becoming fluent. The things I talk about are obviously not exclusive to English, and while it's going to be difficult to implement some of them without at least a cursory knowledge of a certain language I believe a lot of them are going to helpful to anyone trying to pick up a new language.

At the very least you'll get to laugh at my apparent inability to curl my hair properly. Enjoy!

xx
ivymuse

Sort:  

Nice tips. That's an interesting observation about Californian English.

With regard to finding content in your target language, Netflix has been pretty good for this lately. Many of the original content, especially children's shows, have multiple audio and subtitle tracks. So you can watch the show a few times in your native language and then switch to your target language for practice. Of course, this doesn't help those without Netflix access...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58